‘Star Wars: The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 25 (Part 3)

It was Tuesday and a busy day at that.  I got up this morning and was a little perturbed because Heather forgot to make my breakfast and lunch last night.  Now, I know a lot of you out there think that I’m coddled because my wife doesn’t make my food for me.  Well, she takes care of me because I make sure that three kids have lunches and breakfasts in the morning and so there is a give and take there.  So, I had to deal with some mass chaos of getting the kids and myself ready.  So, we managed to work ourselves out of the mass chaos and not get too off-set for our morning this morning.  Our babysitter showed up on time and I was off to work while the kids were off to school.

My work day went pretty well today.  I was able to do some fair amount of teaching and I think my lesson plans went fairly well.  I was surprised just how much information my students were able to soak in and I think that they are starting to get used to my schedule and expectations for class.  I had my last band rehearsal at lunch today for the concert that was tonight.  I am always happy to get my lunches back because when I work the lunch hour, I have about four hours where I do nothing but work and have very little time to actually eat my lunch.  To make matters worse, there is a book club meeting tomorrow and I’m not going to be able to make it because I have catch-up work to do and I also have some students to try and work with.  I made it through my work day and headed home.

I got home and Heather asked me if I would got and pick the kids up from their piano lessons so she could get dinner on the table on time.  So, I got back in the car and went over to the church to pick up the kids, but Austin somehow got the piano teacher behind (a LONG story) and Ruth only had about a ten minute lesson before we had to go.  We got home and had a dinner of homemade meatball sandwiches with homemade bread.  It tasted awesome!  We also found out that Austin has not been at his last two band lessons and then lied to Heather and I about it.  Hmmm…   I’m not sure what’s going on here, but I told him that this is unacceptable.

Shortly after dinner we headed to the mall for our “Music In Our School’s Month” concert and I helped the band director set up for the concert.  I repaired three instruments just before the concert and then helped tear down the concert.  I think we did pretty well.  The kids performed great and they drew a little bit of a crowd, which was nice to see.  The kids were happy and so were Rob and I.  I checked out GameStop before leaving and coming home.  We got home and I took a short nap and then watched “American Idol” as I worked on a few things and then downloaded a program to help me with recording.  I haven’t had a chance to check it out yet, but I’ll let you know what I think once I get a chance to play around with it.  I also solved my problem between Flock and WordPress and I am glad to say that I’m using Flock as my default browser now.  I like it SO much better than Inernet Explorer!  I answered some emails and watched “Law and Order:SVU” and then headed to bed.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 3 of Chapter 25 of “Star Wars:  The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel” by Steven Barnes…..Chapter 25 (Part 3):  After making some small talk, the Five Families retreated until tomorrow to let the guests enjoy their moment.  Duris led Obi-Wan onto the dance floor and asked if he knew a dance called the reel.  Obi-Wan said he did, even though deep down he really wished he did not.  As he prepared to dance with The Regent, he felt an odd disturbance in The Force and when he scanned the room, it brought him to a creature that was in the corner veilled by the shadows.  He could not get a read on the creature and wasn’t even sure if it were male or female.  He then went back to the dance and told Duris that it was time to experiment.  She laughed as Obi-Wan looked over his shoulder and noted that the Barrister was too busy with conversation to dance himself, which Obi-Wan found comforting.  He turned and got into position and in line and he began to enjoy the Cestus interpretation of the Alderaan Weaver’s Reel.  He knew his guests were watching him to see if he would adapt quick enough.  Obi-Wan had different obligations on his mind.  He wanted to figure out why he sensed a disturbance in The Force and who the figure in the shadows is.  As he got a sense of the creature, Duris interupted his focus and complemented him on his dancing skills.  Obi-Wan chuckled to himself because many don’t expect the Jedi to know how to dance, but they are trained in it and se warrior’s moves within a culture’s dance traditions.  He told G’Mai he was simply following her, as he realized that the figure in the shadows was gone.  Obi-Wan thought back to his days in the Jedi Temple when Yoda pointed out that a warrior that cannot dance is simply clumsy.  He noted that the disturbance in The Force he felt had faded as Duris pointed out to him that all the guests were watching him because they have never seen a Jedi before.  When he got a chance, he stepped away from the dance to try adn find the figure in the dark, but it’s as if the creature was never there…..

One Response to “‘Star Wars: The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 25 (Part 3)”

  1. Tablet popust

    ‘Star Wars: The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 25 (Part 3) | The Jedi Council Forum

Leave a Reply

