‘Star Wars: The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 25 (Part 2)

Well, it’s Monday and it’s the beginning of the week.  I was able to get some rest for the morning this morning, but I’ll admit that I was not really bounding out of bed this morning.  I believe I snoozed the alarm at least twice this morning.  I got up and got the kids going for the day today.  They were in a better mood than I was, I will openly admit that.  I got them going for the day and they had breakfast as I took a shower and then joined them for breakfast.  We had some fun watching the “Today” show today as they talked about the idiot that went to propose to his girlfriend and put it in a Wendy’s Frosty and the girlfriend ate the proposal ring by accident.  Not exactly the smartest thing anyone has done.  The babysitter showed up on time and I was off to work while the kids were off to school.

I got to school and got things set up for my day.  It will be an interesting day today as I was hoping to get through information pretty quickly.  Unfortunately, I didn’t get through as much as I had wanted to.  But, that is often to be expected when I expect more of my students.  It generally happens that way.  I managed to get through my day with my students and I realized at lunch that I didn’t watch “Celebrity Apprentice” last night, so I watched it on Hulu during lunch today.  I love the site Hulu.com.  It’s so cool!  I got done with my day and left school after talking to Rob and Sherri before leaving.

I got home and talked with the kids a little bit and then went downstairs and played “Call of Duty 4” until it was time for dinner.  I then went upstairs and joined the family for dinner eating and we had sloppy joes, boiled potatoes, and deviled eggs.  I went downstairs and watched T.V. until it was time to take Austin to Scouts and I dropped him off and came home.  I did some grading and worked on the newest podcast that will be released soon.  See, I will be stopping “The Jedi Council Speaks”, but I will be starting another podcast that Ian and I will run together with some help from some other individuals.  I’ll leak more information here as it becomes available, so stay tuned!  Heather went and picked up Austin from Scouts as I was completely embroiled in “24” which was on tonight and was completely AWESOME!!  I’m totally addicted to the show now!  I then watched “C.S.I. Miami” and then went to bed with Heather.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 2 of Chapter 25 of “Star Wars:  The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel” by Steven Barnes……Chapter 25 (Part 2):  As soon as their car arrived, they could hear the music.  Many hundred guests of varying species were already at the party wearing X’Ting masks.  Obi-Wan noted the few members of actual X’Tings in the crowd.  As Kenobi and Snoil entered, many of the guests bowed and moved aside as they passed.  The upper class was socializing this party that was highlighted by fast-paced music that demanded fancy footwork.  As G’Mai Duris caught the attention of Snoil and Kenobi and everyone stopped dancing and applauded their guests of honor.  Obi-Wan knew that everything on Cestus had double meaning and he wondered if this was a way to show that even worlds on the Outer Rim have some form of sophistication.  He observed these Cestians as they showed him their lovely, but fragile society and he hoped he could develop an appropriate tactic.  Duris came over and told Kenobi that it was a pleasure to have him here.  Obi-Wan said he could not come this far and not participate in their famed hospitality.  He noted that the Regent seemed to glow in a social gathering such as this.  Dignataries all started to line up behind G’Mai and one asked to be introduced and G’Mai introduced Jedi Master Obi-Wan Kenobi and Barrister Doob Snoil to the heads of the Five Families.  She introduced them to Debbikin of research, Lady Por’Ten of energy, Kefka in manufacturing, Llitishi of sales and marketing, and Duris’ cousin Caica Quill of mining.  As each was introduced, they bowed toward their guests of honor…..

One Response to “‘Star Wars: The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 25 (Part 2)”

  1. The style of writing is quite familiar . Have you written guest posts for other blogs?

Leave a Reply

