‘Star Wars: The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 23 (Part 4)

Well, it’s Monday and it’s the day after break.  What a Monday it was too!  I got up this morning and really was dragging because when Heather got up this morning, she managed to wake me up too, somehow.  So, in reality, I was up at about 5:30 this morning.   This happens every once in a while and it sucks when this happens.  So, I got the kids going for the day and I was soon ready for my day.  Our babysitter showed up on time this morning and I was off to work, while the kids were off to school.

I got to work a little later than I wanted to, but that was okay with me.  I got things set up for the day and was running behind a little, but got myself caught up rather quickly throughout the morning.  I got through my first period and I was impressed with how much information my students remembered when we reviewed our information.  My work day wasn’t bad at all, in all honesty.  My one class of seventh graders was out of control, however and I hope they are able to get it back together tomorrow, because my patience with them is starting to run thin.  What makes me upset is that I have a bunch of students that are smart in there, but they are often too busy socializing to learn in a proper way.

I got done with my work day and I came home and crashed for a little bit.  I had to take a nap just to be able to make it through the Blue and Gold dinner that we were going to tonight.  So, I went downstairs and Heather joined me as I took a nap.  Afterwards, we ate a little snack just because we knew we weren’t going to make it the two hours until dinner and hung out for a while, while I played “Call of Duty 4” online and then we left for the Blue and Gold Dinner.  I was proud of my son and the fact that he is going to be a Boy Scout now, instead of a Cub Scout.  I have to say that Austin is truly becoming a young man now.  It makes me proud to see him move up.  I was so proud of him, that I have decided to get more involved in Scouts and I have decided to become an Assistant Scout Master with his Boy Scout troop.  The Scout Master was excited to get me involved and can’t wait till next Monday when I can get the info from them and get started.  Heather and I also decided to make a donation to the Boy Scouts and become a “Friend of Scouting” to support the program.

We got done with the Blue and Gold Dinner and came home.  We were home by eight o’clock or so and Heather and I headed downstairs and watched “Big Bang Theory”, “How I Met Your Mother”, and “Heroes”.  We taped “24” and I went to watch it at ten o’clock, but the tape was a crap tape and I didn’t get a chance to watch “24”.  AHHHH!!!!  So, I tried to find it at hulu.com, but it wasn’t on there yet, so I bit torrented it.  In the meantime, I recorded the very first segment of a new Star Wars podcast that will be coming out soon.  Ian and I will be doing it instead of “The Jedi Council Speaks” and I can’t wait for the first show to be aired.  I think everyone will like it!  I got done recording and joined Heather in bed, when I realized that I hadn’t contacted the SMASH students to let them know that there would be no SMASH this week.  So, I texted everyone at once and then went to bed.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 4 of Chapter 23 of “Star Wars:  The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel” by Steven Barnes…..

Chapter 23 (Part 4):  Ventress said they were gifts of salt, water, and meat.  TRilot was unsure what to do as he knew this was a highly regarded ritual in X’Ting upper society, but he was no royal.  He did not want to be impolite, but out of one of the pouches emerged a snake.  First one snake, then a second and Trillot’s protocol droid told him that he believes that the X’Ting is expected to ingest these windsnakes.  Ventress had a smug smile on her face that Trillot studied and Fizzik thought had made the woman all the more interesting.  In a flash, Trillot grabbed one windsnake and bashed it’s head against the desk and he did the same with the other snake.  He told one of the droids  to send for Janu.  Moments later, a giant, horn-skinned brown creature entered the room and Trillot asked him what he could concoct with two windsnakes, water, and salt.  Janu said he could make glymph pie, and suggested using fantazi mushrooms as a base.  Trillot said no, (in a female voice, as he transformation was taking hold on his body) and explained he needed to have his wits about him tonight.  Fizzik found it odd that his brother would talk about such personal things with an outsider in the room.  Janu said he could make it with banthaweed and scurried away with the tray of the two dead windsnakes…..

Leave a Reply

