‘Star Wars: The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 21 (Part 3)

Well, it’s Tuesday of my vacation and Heather is home with me today and tomorrow.  That is when my real vacation begins because we actually get to be alone together for even just a little while.  It will be a nice change of pace.  I got up this morning around nine o’clock or so and watched “Dr. Phil” with Heather and then we decided to go our seperate ways to get things done.  She worked on the bedroom and painting in there while I went downstairs and worked on organizing the shop and my work room.  I knew I had to get this done because tonight she plans on organizing her own sewing room and some of the things in my room will need to be moved to her room tonight.

I spent most of my morning working on transferring my American Idol videotapes from tapes to DVD’s.  I hope my kids at school really do appreciate all the time I spend trying to transfer videos to DVD’s and getting rid of the commercials.  Anyway, that pretty much sucked up all the time this morning between ten and noon.  It takes a while to process and edit a video, so it take some serious time and some serious patience.  At lunch time, Heather made egg salad and we all had a nice lunch of egg salad along with other things.  After lunch, I worked with Austin on his Pinewood Derby car.  I totally forgot that I have a race for his car this Saturday (which we just found out about last week) and I have to scramble to get that car together.  I had hime draw on the car what he wanted the car to look like.  Then we headed to Lowe’s to get a coping saw to cut the car out with.

We got home and it was time for dinner.  We ate a dinner of a casserole that was a “Heather concoction” of meat, mashed potatoes, and tomato soup.  A sort of poor man (or family’s) shepards pie.  It actually wasn’t bad and Heather actually ran out.  After dinner, we cut out Austin’s pinewood derby car and came up with a plan with what we wanted to do with it, the problem is going to be getting it done by Saturday and to make sure the weight is perfect and dead on.  It may try my patience!  I got done with that and then I worked on the last part of “The Jedi Council Speaks”.  I thought it would only take an hour, maybe a little more, but I never thought it would take the amount of time that it did.

Before I knew it, the final episode of “The Jedi Council Speaks” took up my entire night.  I worked for three hours on the project.  Evidently, Eric (the guy who runs “Star Wars Sensei”) recorded his recording in a different format than the 44100 Mhz that I have gotten used to.  This is also my fault becaue I never told him to set his recording settings to that, so this is why I can’t get mad at Eric, it’ MY fault not his.  So, I had to move the recordings from one version of Audacity to another and back again and try to convert the different segments of the show and then reformat the entire MP3 of the show.  I finally finished with the process by eleven o’clock or so, and then uploaded the final segment to the show tonight and it will come out on Friday.  Oi!  Who knew a podcast would be so life consuming?!!

Okay, with all of that said, let’s talk about Part 3 of Chapter 21 of “Star Wars:  The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel” by Steven Barnes…..

Chapter 21 (Part 3):  Thak went on to explain that thirty years ago, he took charge of the group by taking a test that he now offered the Jedi to take.  He then instructed Brother Fate to bring forward a basket that was big enough to hold a human baby.  But they heard hissing coming from the basket and they knew there was a serpentine creature somewhere on the inside of that basket.  The two X’Tings holding the bracket asked the Jedi if he trusted them and he asked what he needed to do.  The female X’Ting instructed Fisto to put his hand inside he basket and then they would see.  Nate was apprehensive of this idea to say the least.  If the Jedi put his hand in there and it got bit by a poionous snake it could kill him.  But, the Jedi didn’t blink twice and said yes.  He stared straight into the X’Ting female’s eyes and he lowered his arm into the basket up to his elbow.  Nate thought they were all somehow missing something.  One of the older X’Tings nodded and Fisto pulled his hand out, and it wa now covered in a wet substance that the Jedi did not wipe off.  Two of the X’Tings retreated into a prayer positionand prayed for a moment and came back and told the group he tells the truth.  Thak Val Zsing aid the guides have never been wrong and he yielded he leadership of Desert Wind.  He commented that he hoped he wasn’t making a big mistake…..

Leave a Reply

