‘Star Wars: The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 20 (Part 2)

Well, it’s Tuesday and it’s the last SMASH performance before our winter break.  It was going to be a long day and I woke up this morning not feeling so well.  I felt this way last night and this morning I felt worse.  I considered calling in to work, but I thought it wasn’t fair to my students and I had a feeling I could get through the day today, so I toughed it out.

So, needless to say, when I got up this morning, I wasn’t feeling great, but I managed to make it through the morning.  The kids were nice enough to help take care of dear old dad, which I very much appreciated.  Ruth knew how I was feeling because she had this stomach bug a little over a week ago herself, so she had some sympathy on me.  Even my wife rarely has sympathy on me when I’m sick.  Instead, she complains about having to help me.  This doesn’t make me feel loved sometimes.  Anyway, the babysitter showed up on time and I was off to work and the kids were off to school.

I got to school and found out they were moving the equipment off the stage today for the concert on Friday and I have to say it was nice to see all the things getting moved off for this event.  That at least started my day off well, which put me in a better mood.  I managed to make it through the day today teaching music theory and my students seem to be doing okay with the work.  I was happy that things went so well and it made my illness seem like that much less of an issue.  I didn’t go out for lunch because I wanted to get some things done in my room, so I stayed in.  The art teacher next door went out anyway to Subway and they ran into the local SWAT Team having lunch there which I thought was a little funny.

I made it through my work day today and got to the end of the day.  While everyone else left the building, I stayed behind to grade papers and get some things done around the room before I left for SMASH.  Ironically, the team that is working on the building showed up while I was working in my room and they were outside my room working while I was trying to do grades.  I got all my grades done and caught up on everything and headed over to SMASH.

I met Heather in the parking lot when I got there and she told me that she bought the paint for the bedroom today, which I was excited about because this means our bedroom is finally about to go under the change that we’re going to make back there.  I just want to get that project done.  Anyway, I got into SMASH and Jim told me about the deal with the tapping that they started last week Friday and they are charging $10 per person per lesson.  I told Jim I couldn’t afford that because that would be $20 a week for Ruth and myself.  So, I guess I’m not going to learn tap for the group.  All well.  We got through the practice today and things seemed to go fine.

Ruth and I got home and we ate dinner with the family and then I went downstairs and worked on my blog for a little bit and did some more editing for “The Jedi Council Speaks” and then I stopped all of that by nine o’clock and then I stopped and watched “Fringe” and “Law and Order SVU” and then went to bed.

It was a long day and by the end of the evening, I felt better, but I wasn’t 100% cured yet, but I hoped by tomorrow I would be completely feeling better.  That would be nice.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 2 of Chapter 20 of “Star Wars:  The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel” by Steven Barnes…..

Chapter 20 (Part 2):  Nate wa happy to see all of them keep up, but he was especially proud of Resta.  When they broke for chow, ten of them had moved along, including the miner that complained about Resta.  Nate knew that by the end of the day, about half the group would quit.  This was to be expected.  After the meal, the clones broke them up into smaller groups to train them.  N one had even picked up a weapon yet.  The “Spindragon” arrived bringing back General Fisto to the camp.  He asked how many made it through morning training and then went into the cave and continued with his own preparations.  Sheeka watched the recruits and asked Nate why do this, Jango thought that training should take months.  He said it gave them a chance to observe them and weed out the weak ones.  She then talked to him some more about Jango Fett.  She told Nate that there are those that think Jango was a traitor to The Republic, but the clone said it wa their honor to erase that memory.  She was shocked that this was really how they felt.  She pointed out to the clone that he and all his brothers are getting their information about their host being from the Jedi that killed him.  Nate asked how he could be more like Jango and Sheeka said that he needs to show emotion, but not be scared at the same time……

Leave a Reply

