‘Star Wars: The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 19 (Part 4)

Well, it was Sunday and I cannot believe how busy my Sunday was.  We got up this morning a little later than we wanted to, but we got ourselves going for the day.  We had a lot to get ready for, so we were on the ground running from the very first moment we got up.  We all sat down and ate breakfast together.  My parents had brought down Dunkin Donuts with them, so we used that as our breakfast this morning even though I don’t think it was the healthiest of breakfasts for us to have for the day today.

We got done with breakfast and the kids got dressed into their Scout uniforms while Heather continued to get ready for church.  I took Ruth and Austin and headed off to church since I was doing sound this morning.  I love the fact that my church relies on me to do all the hard Sundays when it comes to sound.   You know, the Sundays that are all about all the stuff going on in church and requires me to be on my toes.  It keeps me from getting bored in church and keeps me inevitably on my toes for the service.  I got everything ready and my parents showed up with Heather and Tara.  We had a very nice Scout Sunday church service and I was happy that my church was able to honor them the way they did.

I got done with church and we went home and mom and dad got out of church clothes like we did.  We got done and ate a little bit of a lunch and then I headed back and got the kids from Sunday school.  I got home with them and helped mom and dad pack up their car and they left.  They no more than got out the door than Heather and I left and we went to today’s meeting of The Binghamton FanForce.

We had a nice meeting today for the group.  We talked about past event and then talked about future events and what we can do for the group in the future.  It was a fun meeting and Jeff joined us via phone and we got a lot accomplished at the meeting.  It was a great time by everyone and a little before 2:30 we left the meeting.  We got home and I did some paperwork grading and then I decided to play “Call of Duty 4” because I’m so close to Prestiging up for the last time and I want to do it before the end of the week just because ti would be so cool to Prestige up in the game for the last time!

We got to dinner time and it was leftovers for dinner. We ate dinner together and then I went downstairs and continued working on the second part of “The Jedi Council Speaks”, which will be coming out this coming Friday.  As I worked on that, I watched a whole bunch of reruns on T.V. till “Big Love” came on.  At that point, Heather and I watched the show together and then we went to bed a little early.   It’s a busy week this coming week and I hope everything goes okay and we can get all the things accomplished that need to get done.  If it i the case, then my world, my house, and this place is about to go through some drastic changes which will be cool. 

Okay, let’s talk about Part 4 of Chapter 9 of “Star Wars:  The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel” by Steven Barnes…..

Chapter 19 (Part 4):  Obi-Wan knew there were implications to what she was saying, but he went on to explain that when she someday meets the Chancellor, she will find him to be empathetic and understanding.  She said she understood, but reminded Kenobi that her primary goal is to put her people first, more than peace or even her own life.  Obi-Wan said he admired her ability to be responible in the position she’s in.  She said she hopes that this is the beginning of oa good relationship between the rulers of Ord Cestus and The Republic, but Obi-Wan reminded her that The Republic only has custodians and not rulers.  Barrister Doob Snoil then introduced himself and cited a treaty between The Republic and Ord Cestus.  He let the Regent know that although Cestus Cybernetics themselves are not doing anything illegal, they are selling JK droids that can be converted into deadly weapons.  Snoil cited another treaty and demanded that Cestus cease production of these droids.  The Zeesta who had picked them up entered the room and quietly consulted with G’Mail.  Over the next hour, the Barrister continued to cite treaties and documents while G’Mai countered every point with her own understanding of Cestus law.  Obi-Wan knew that much of this discussion was a show and knew that the Regent understood the devastation of power she was facing.  Obi-Wan hoped that good will would prevail and peace would come without a sacrifice.

Leave a Reply

