‘Star Wars: The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 17 (Part 7)

Well, it’s Sunday, and it’s not just any Sunday, but it’s Superbowl Sunday!  I love Superbowl Sunday!  And my wife had decided this year to yet again grace me with the ability to again put together a wizz banger of a Superbowl bash.  So, we had quite the Sunday ahead of us.  We got up in time for church today and we all got dressed and got ready and got to church.  We had a nice service this morning, but I’ll admit my mind was on the game tonight.  I really hoped that the Arizona Cardinals could pull out an upset.  Not because I”m a Cardinals fan, but because I’m a Kurt Warner fan.  I have been ever since he led the Rams to their Superbowl victory and I was hoping he could do it again.  We got done with church and Heather and I came home while we left the kids at church for Sunday School and Youth Group.  We went home and got ready for our guests that would be coming tonight.  We put a whole bunch of food in the oven and I went downstairs and inputed grades for the last time for last quarter and organized my notes and my attendance for next quarter.  I felt I needed to do this before the big game.  I got done and played a little bit of “Call of Duty” before going to pick up the kids.  I came home and finished helping Heather get ready and we had put together quite the spread.  We had chicken wings, bread bowls with chili, bread dip with bread (all home made, mind you!), vegetable platter, cheese and crackers, and much, much more.  Just before the beginning of the game, Jim, Robert, Ian, and Linda showed up and Rob showed up a little while after that.  I will say that the game was pretty awesome, especially the fourth quarter and I was even more excited that we got to watch the game in HD, which was really cool for me!  Jim left by the end of the third quarter and Rob and Ian stuck around till the end of the game and then left.  It was late, I helped Heather clean up and we went to bed.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 7 of Chapter 17 of “Star Wars:  The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel” by Steven Barnes…..

Chapter 17 (Part 7):  Sheeka responded to Nate that she felt like she already knew Nate, but went on to explain that she already had known Jango Fett.  She told him that she met Jango about twenty years ago and the clones look strikingly like their original mentor.  Nate said he is the first among his brothers to meet someone who met Jango Fett.  She then joked with the clone about that fact and Nate commented about how The Republic had cloned the perfect fighting machine.  She smiled and said he wasn’t perfect and she wondered what he thought of the fact that he was the father of an army of clones.  Nate them told her that Jango was dead and Sheeka commented that she had always kind of thought that Jango Fett was invincible.  Sheeka asked exactly what he knew about him and the clone explained that he was a great bounty hunter and always followed through on his contracts.  She asked Nate how he died and the clone said a client betrayed him and it took a dozen Jedi to bring him down.  Sheeka then asked Nate if it bothered him that he works with these Jedi now.  The clone said no, and said they owe their lives to the Jedi for even creating them, but Sheeka said Jango would not agree.  He asked her to tell him more, but she said she would later if he was good.  The clone said he was the best of the best.

Leave a Reply

