‘Star Wars: The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 17 (Part 2)

Well, it was Tuesday and it was the calm before the storm, no doubt!  I got up this morning and got the kids going and ready for the day.   I knew it was going to be a busy day both at school and at home.  I know that I have limited time with my students for the rest of this quarter and I have a sneaking suspicion that we will have a snow day tomorrow, so that had a drastic impact on my expectations on what to do today.  I got the kids ready for school and our babysitter showed up on time and the kids were off to school while I was off to work.  I got to work and came up with a game plan for the day today.  I decided today I would need to do final exam prepartations.  I would normally do that tomorrow along with a music Jeopardy game, but I have a feeling there won’t be a “tomorrow” at school, so I had to do everything I could to get these kids ready for their final exams.  I got through my day today and I think my students understood what to expect if tomorrow was a snow day.  I spent most of my prep time today finshing up on paperwork and getting copies ready and the last minute grading of papers.  I did all of this while waiting to get ready for SMASH.  I then ran into some of my old students in the building and they interviewed me for a project for school asking me about Obama, the economy and America today.  They really liked my simple solution to the economic problems of our times.  I say it’s a simple solution, a Tariff on all goods coming into this country from foreign countries.  If we did a 5% Tariff, it would encourage Americans to buy American made and it may draw factories back to the states that have gone overseas a long time ago.  I got done and headed over to SMASH rehearsal and we had a good practice putting Superstition together.  We did that all rehearsal and I invited Jim and his son to my Superbowl party and he said he and Robert would be there.  I then brought Ruth home and we had pancakes for dinner and then I went downstairs and watched “American Idol” and “Fringe” while organizing my shop and then I blogged while watching “Family Guy” and then went to bed.

Okay, let’s talk about Part 2 of Chapter 17 of “Star Wars:  The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel” by Steven Barnes…..Chapter 17 (Part 2):  “Spindragon” was a YT-1200 medium freighter.  Nate noted all the melded parts together to keep the ship functioning, but they all seemed storng and he gave it his approval.  On the inside were some decorations to make it seem at home and the woman asked the ARC Trooper what his name was and he told her it was Trooper A-Nine-Eight, and he told her to call him Nate.  Sheeka pursed her lips as she looked at the clone and Nate believed she had just categorized all clones into the non-being category.  Shortly after, the ship took off heading southeast and then north.  Nate looked at the manufacturing complex as they came in for a landing.  It included several mine shafts along with a refinery, living quarters, and a Cestus vertion of a green house.  He saw this settlement as tactically weak.  He kept his mouth shut and he and Forry were the first to exit the ship via the ramp.  They were followed by Kit and Sheeka.  The clones noted the amount of people that showed to greet them, but precious few were actual X’Ting. They all relaxed when Sheeka appeared and greeted the large crowd.  She told the people in the crowd to judge these minions from The Republic on their own as she would not personally vouch for them.  Obviously whatever leverage The Republic had weighed on her did not cause her to sell out and Nate respected that…..

Leave a Reply

