‘Star Wars: The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 15 (Part 2)

Well, it’s Wednesday and the middle of the week.  For my students, it was D Day, or maybe we should refer to it as ELA Day.  I got up this morning knowing that it would be a little chaotic.  I got the kids up this morning and got them ready for school.  Ruth couldn’t believe all the things I was taking to school, but I was explaining to her that I was trying to entertain kids while ELA testing was going on.  Once I got to school, I set things up.  My job today was to entertain students not taking the test until they were taken into a room to take the test in smaller groups as they do better in smaller group settings.  It wasn’t that bad and the students were fairly well behaved.  We watched a movie for about two hours and then they played some board games while others played on the keyboards.  We didn’t finish with the testing today until lunch time, so I had students for almost three and a half hours!  Wow, that was a long time to try and entertain students!  I got done with all of that and ate lunch with some fellow teachers.  After lunch we did some recording of music videos and then I did prep work for my classes.  Most important, I was setting up the alternative assignment for “American Idol” for my sixth grade classes that couldn’t handle behaving and watching the show.  I got done with my school day and came home.   I went downstairs and graded papers until dinner.  Heather had a great dinner tonight!  She made bread bowls out of homemade bread and we ate soup in them.  It was a wonderful meal, but it was filling!  I got done with dinner and headed downstairs and started working on “The ConservaCast”.  I had originally thought I would pick apart Obama’s speech by quoting it, but I decided it was better to use the audio of the speech.  So, I downloaded it and then interjected my own voice.  It took a LOT longer than I anticipated.  So much so, I missed “Knight Rider” and “Criminal Minds” in order to record.  I then watched “C.S.I.: NY” with Heather before going to bed.  If you want to check out that show of “The ConservaCast”, it can be found right here:

http://www.conservacast.mypodcast.com – it’s ConservaCast #7.  Some of you may find it interesting.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 2 of Chapter 15 of “Star Wars:  The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel” by Steven Barnes…..

Chapter 15 (Part 2):  Nate turned on the speeder bike and moved down the shadows causing the spiders to come out of teh shadows and attack.  As they revealed themselves, the clones got a better fix on their positions.  The spiders desperately attacked the Jedi and clones with venom and spit silk, but nothing they did broke the power of the defensive Geonosis Square, a successful tactic.  As Nate caused confusion by whipping around his speederbike, Kit whistled and all the clones boarded their own speeder bikes.  Nate laughed at how easy this suddenly seemed, a crod of spiders crawled down from the top cavern and Nate knew they needed to just fight.  After six spiders and dozens of baby spiders died, they finally decided to retreat under the protection of the giant red, female spider.  The clones went to follow, but the general told them to stop.  The large female spider lowered here head, leaving her eyes fixed on Fisto, almost as if bowing to the Jedi.  Fisto insisted they put up perimeter sensors as this cave was at least clear now.  Sirty whispered to Nate that they fought for it, so it’s theirs…..

Leave a Reply

