‘Star Wars: The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel’- Chapter 14 (Part 1)

Well, it’s Saturday and there was a lot to get done.  But, I’ll be honest I slept in today.  I rarely get a chance to do that and I feel so exhausted lately that I often wonder if I’ve got some sort of disease that just taps out my energy.  Some of my friends at school say that kids simply do that to you.  Maybe they’re right!  Anyway, I got up a little later than I wanted to.  I got up and Heather and I talked about tonight a little bit.  We discussed what needed to happen as we have an event with the FanForce group.  It’s a birthday party for a boy that’s a HUGE Star Wars fan and we wanted to make it a special event, so mom called us and we decided to get involved.  The party is going to be at the Kopernick Observatory which is a giant space/scientific center here in Binghamton, NY.  So, most of my day was spent geting ready for that event.  But, I did manage to get a whole bunch of grading done and finally got caught up on all that school work that I had.  I did that as well as organize part of my shop and part of my basement.  Heather and I even brainstormed about setting up a new place to set up a podcast station for Ian and I to record at.  It will cost some money, but will be well worth the investment in the long run.  We got done with all of that and it was pretty much time to go.  We got the car loaded up and headed for the event.  We provided an awesome experience for the young birthday boy and I’m sure he had a blast!  We had fun and we were there just in costume.  It was a great experience and we got some wonderful shots, including one with Star Wars characters by their telescope.  It was pretty cool.  We got done with the event and decided to go to “TGI Friday’s” after the event.  We had a good social time and Heather had wanted to go to Wal Mart to go shopping, but decided that now was not the time.  So, when we finished with “TGI Fridays” we came home and pretty much all headed straight to bed.  Tomorrow was going to be a long day as well as some individuals (that I’m not allowed to talk about on here) will be coming tomorrow and will be helping us with the problems with the house and then we’ll be going sledding in Chengango Valley State Park.  It should be lots of fun!

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 1 of Chapter 14 of “Star Wars:  The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel” by Steven Barnes…..

Chapter 14 (Part 1):  Xutoo reentered Cestus’s atmosphere and received instructions for landing.  They were heading for ChikatLik (meaning “the center”), the Cestus capital city.  Their computers guided them better than their own eyes could even see as their ship ws landing through a dust storm.  Cestus made a perfect prison planet because it’s perfect use of interconnected , naturally created caves.  It was a lava tube taht their ship landed in.  As they landed, they noted the now visible grafitti on their caves and the riggings and tubes that came from years of work.  Obi-Wan noted how the workers not only modernized the tunnels, but how they tried to keep the natural beauty f the surrounding landscape.  They went down the tunnel and turned left toward artificial light that momentarily blinded them.  The apartments and buildings blended with the tunnels so well it was hard to see where one ended and another began.  He saw many walkways and elevated roads, but did note that they had some sort of organic mass transit system…..

Leave a Reply

