‘Star Wars: The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 11 (Part 1)

Thursday and the day after a snow day just two days after Christmas break.  you just know the kids are going to be wound up at school today!  We got up this morning to Heather being called in to work.  She told them she would come in, but after nine o’clock as she needed to get me to work and my daughter to school.  They agreed.  She helped me get the kids ready for school and that’s when we discovered what my son had done last night.  He played with the scale that we had bought to keep track of our weight loss and somehow destroyed the scale.  Now, Tara had gotten in trouble for the exact same thing about a month ago, now my son gets himself in trouble for doing the same.  I was furious with him, but didn’t have time to dwell on the event as I had to get to work and they had to get to school.  Heather drove me into work and I got to work on time.  I got my classroom ready and decided to treat today like a Wednesday because I couldn’t afford to loose the time that I had lost from before break.  So, my eighth graders had an opportunity to practice keyboard before their test next week, my seventh graders did the same, while my sixth graders had their first recorder test.  However, my one problem class caused more problems again today and so they had to do their behavior packets.  Maybe they’ll get it before the end of the quarter, maybe not.  I sure hope I get them to understand that the adults in this building are in charge.  I got done with my work day and in all honesty, I was in a bad mood.  But, we had a good PLG that re-adjusted my mood today and we had another wonderful PLG today.  I got done with work and came home and we had it out with the kids.  Austin broke the scale, Ruth forgot to give me silverware with lunch for the millionth time, and Tara forgot to bring her spelling words home to study.  All I can say is that “the belt will wail tonight”!  (that’s a reference to the Bill Cosby stand-up act).  They weren’t happy by the end of the evening and neither was I.  I worked almost the entire evening on “Novel Ideas #7”.  I finished the last little bit of recording and then started editing that segment.  I didn’t get it done tonight, man I hope I get it done tomorrow night!  I watched very little T.V. as there wasn’t really much on anyway, so I focused on my podcast.  We went to bed a little later tonight, but knew we would have a chance to take a nap tomorrow.  Tonight Austin slept downstairs because my wife has started to remove the furniture out of his room.  Over the next two months we’re going to move Austin out of his room and we’ll take over his room and redo our room.  New carpet, paint job, curtains, and the whole nine yards.  Hopefully our room with undergo a HUGE transformation.  So, my wife started the work tonight.

Okay, let’s talk about Part 1 of Chapter 11 of  “Star Wars:  The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel” by Steven Barnes…..

Chapter 11 (Part 1):  Obi-Wan and Kit Fisto practiced their lightsaber skills for two hours.  A Jedi’s life revolved around thier lightsaber, and many felt they were not as efficient as a bomb or a blaster.  The Jedi were not intended to be warriors however.  The Jedi wished to make a connection with an opponent and drew power from being close to an assailant.  As the two measured each other’s skill, Obi-Wan found Fisto to be the better swordsman with his aggressive style.  But the Nautolan gave up some speed with his aggressiveness.  Kit was a Master of Form I lightsaber style from the Sabilon region of Glee Anselm, and was based on ancient sword techniques.  Anakin usd Form V, which emphasized strength; Count Dooku used Form II, which emphasized precision; and Obi-Wan mastered Form II, which emphasized deflection and defensive protection.  They sparred with each other for hours using the same techniques Yoda taught them in the Temple…..

Leave a Reply

