‘Star Wars: The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 9

Well, it’s Monday and I have to say that my week did NOT start off well.  I got up at my usual time this morning and got the kids going for school today.  They were being punished because of something they did last night, so they ate breakfast in their rooms as part of their punishment.  We got ourselves ready and the kids got off to school while I headed off to work.  I had very positive thoughts going into work thinking that this would be the beginning of turning over a new leaf by being more relaxed at my job and rolling with the punches a little bit more.  Well, this morning was my first test.  I got to my classroom and as I openened the door, water came running out into the hallway.  I knew this was not good news.  I looked up when I walked into my room and saw water just pouring out of the ceiling.  To make matters worse, there was a big pool of water in the center of my room.  I called the office and the custodians showed up and took a look at the situation.  I had to come up with a plan B and luckily Rebecca, the art teacher next door was nice enough to let me use her classroom to conduct my first period class today.  I was then told by the custodian that someone accidentally let the slop sink on all vacation long and the hose for the sink was laying halfway between the sink and the floor.  That’s where all the water came from.  So, they were able to solve the problem and get the water cleaned up by my third period class.  So, the rest of my classes happened in my room, but the room had little to no heat and it smelled like wet ceiling tiles all day long (you know the smell, if you know what I’m talking about).  I managed to make it through my day but had to deal with the smell and the mess the rest of the day.  I had to clean things up in my room and even had to clean the drawers I use for my classes because they had gotten wet and dirty as well.  I made it through my day and had an uplifting moment towards the end of the day.  I had a wonderful conversation with my friend and band director Rob Johnson about the liberation of no longer being a Marching Band Director and then I got a gift from the librarian.  She bought me a Marc Ecko Star Wars shirt to thank me for helping her with all the technology stuff over the past year or so.  I was so honored to get the shirt and it really uplifted me at the end of a really crappy day!  Then I drove home and when I got home, my wife had a Ram’s shirt (a really nice one too!) that she found at J.C. Penney’s today when she was shopping around.  It’s a really nice shirt and I have to say that I’m pretty proud that I fit into it because it’s a large and I was even more proud of my wife for shopping for the heck of shopping.  I then went downstairs and continued to work on my new Mandalorian sidearm and then recorded some segments of “Novel Ideas” before it was dinner time.  I went upstairs and ate dinner with the family and we had whole-wheat pasta with spaghetti sauce and homemade bread.  Then I went back downstairs and recorded another segment or so of “Novel Ideas” and then Heather and I watched our tape of “Superstars of Dance” and we stopped it for a little bit for me to take Austin to Boy Scouts.  Then I came home and we finished the tape just in time to watche “Superstars of Dance” that was on tonight.  I have to say that I really liked the Irish dancers and the American dancers.  I think the Indian dancers are getting a bad rap because people don’t understand their style of dance.  Anyway, I managed to finish my sidearm tonight and then got EXREMELY depressed when I found out that two members of the Falco Clan are now not able to go to Dragon Con.  Bummer!  This may severely jeopardize my ability to go to Dragon Con this year myself and I was really looking forward to going to D Con this year.  Only time will tell.  Heather and I then watched “Family Guy” and “Sex In The City” before going to bed.

Okay, so let’s talk about Chapter 9 of “Star Wars:  The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel” by Steven Barnes…..

Chapter 9:  The Jedi Temple dominated the Coruscant landscape and every room within the Temple was built with grace and dignity in mind.  Many of he large portions of the building were done by proprieters acrossed the galaxy in recognition that the Jedi often did not protect others.  Obi-Wan and Kit Fisto were addressing the council saying that their normal mandates have changed thanks to the coming of The Clone Wars.  Yoda said the Clone Wars have become unpredictable.  Obi-Wan then explained taht their current position is so politically confusing that it actually requires a barrister to sort it all out, and Obi-Wan said he felt ill-prepared for this sort of mission.  Yoda said they have now entered a strange new era for the Jedi and the Masters in the room agreed.  Mace agreed, but said they need to accept these new responsibilities, for who else would to this work.  Kit said it’s good news that Palpatine still seeks diplomatic solutions, and Obi-Wan asked why not send a diplomat.  Windu agreed and said the Jedi are being forced to use their lightsabers more and more and their words and wisdom less and less.  Yoda said they have become the fighters of the galaxy and Windu pointed to issues on Antar Rour and Jabiim as examples.  But, Obi-Wan reminds them all of the victories as well.  Then Windu pointed out that social order requires healthy balance of myth and reality and the myth is destroyed, only leaving reality.  Windu then told both Master Kenobi and Master Fisto that despite their misgivings their dependence on them is important.  Both Masters accepted and said they will bring an end to the production of these Jedi killers.  Yoda said taht The Force may yet guide them to peaceful times.

Leave a Reply

