‘Star Wars: The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 7 (Part 3)

Well, it’s Saturday and Heather and I decided to sleep in a little bit.  To the point that we didn’t get up until ten o’clock this morning.  We got up and both of us got on our way to our own projects.  I continued my work on my new sidearm for my Mando costume.  And then I started to work on the notes for “Novel Ideas”.  I worked most of the morning and into the afternoon on all of this.  Then Heather told me she got a call from “Computer Emergency Room”.  The good news was that they were able to fix the DVD Player on the inside of the laptop.  The bad news was that they found out the hinges on my laptop that I complained were loose may actually be broken and they are going to need to order me a new screen that is going to cost about $200 to replace!  Crap!  At this rate, I may be replacing everything on the laptop.  All well.  Such is life and it needs to be taken care of.  The bummer is the fact that I just invested in bumper stickers for the screen and now I don’t know if I’ll be able to move them to the new screen.  We’ll have to see.  Anyway, they’re supposed to get back to my wife next week to find out what we’ll need exactly.  Heather then left and went and picked up the latptop from “Computer Emergency Room” and stopped at Wal Mart and picked up some Bond-O for me.  I started watching the NFL Football games this afternoon as I continued to work on my sidearm and managed to weld some parts together and Bond-O other parts together and I was painting the pistol by the end of the night.  I even talked Danny into getting me a clip for the pistol tomorrow night when they come over to pick up the futon we’re selling them.  Cool!  So, I worked the rest of the night while I watched the football games.  I’m glad that the Arizona Cardinals won their game and I kind of hope they go all the way to the Superbowl because I would love to see Kurt Warner get another shot at another ring.  I was even happier to see the Chargers beat the Colts!  I never liked Peyton Manning and I was glad to see them loose in an overtime game that left them high and dry.  Heather and I went to bed as soon as the Colts game was over.  Tomorrow we had to get up for church and then it was pretty much back to the grind.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 3 of Chapter 7 of “Star Wars:  The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel” by Steven Barnes…..

Chapter 7 (Part 3):  While reading, a fellow trooper told Nate that he had been in that sector not long ago and the trooper introduced himself as Forry.  He asked Forry if he knew of Ord Cestus and he said he knew of their reputation of making droids.  He then explained about how a clone went up against a JK droid from Ord Cestus yesterday.  Forry explained to Nate that a trooper went up against one yesterday and it only took twenty-seconds for him to get captured and the same trooper is still in the infirmary.  As Forry brought up the video of he segment, Nate explained about the prison-based history of Ord Cestus.  The video came up and Nate commented about how fast the robot was.  But Forry told him it wasn’t as fast as a Jedi and showed Nate footage of Kit Fisto going up against the JK. Nate noted along with Forry, that the robot was actually faster, but against the Jedi it just didn’t matter.  Forry then almost implied that the droid was programmedto loose against the Jedi.  They both chuckled and said the Jedi still beat Jango Fett.  Nate asked Forry if he had his next op yet and Forry asked him if he was being offered and op.  Nate confirmed and said he’d get him his papers within the hour.  Nate then checked on the status of the clone from the arena.  CT-36/732, nicknamed Sirty was bruised but in decent shape.  Nick thought he would made another fine addition considering he’s already gone up against a JK.  He added the clone, and got approval.  He continued to study.  Nick knew the power of knowledge because his knowledge about the power cycles of the destroyer droids saved five of his fellow clones on Geonosis and put him on the fast-track to becoming captain.  This had become a game, a game to play and win, and to this clone, it was fun.

Leave a Reply

