‘Star Wars: The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 3 (Part 3)

Well, it’s Tuesday and it’s the last day of school before Christmas break.  I got up this morning and felt much better than I did last night.  I can’t explain it, but somehow I was able to make it through the night and actually got enough sleep to not be totally grumpy today.  I was excited because today we were celebrating Christmas at our house and I was more excited about giving Heather her gifts than I was about receiving my own gifts.  But, I’ll get to that in a little bit.  Let’s talk about the start of my day.  I got up this morning and got the kids going and myself going.  We were in a pretty cheery mood and I have to say it started my day off on the right foot, which was important to me.  My babysitter got to our house on time and I was able to get off to work on time and the kids were able to take off to school on time.  I got to work and set things up for the day.  I was taking it a little easy on my classes since most of them were ahead of task.  For my eighth graders, we took our latest test on “Jazz” and then watched “Shrek the Halls”; my seventh graders did audio intervals with me and then watched a little bit of “Elf”; and my one sixth grade class watched “American Idol:  Season 7”, and my other sixth grade class was still doing it’s behavior sheets.  I got done with my school day and came home and found out that Austin was experiencing the same symptoms at school today that I experienced last night.  So, I got home and we prepared for Christmas out our house.  Heather had brought the gifts upstairs and we were all ready and we then went into the mass chaos!  Everyone was excited about what they got.  Ruth was REALLY excited about getting her MP3 Player, Tara was beside herself about getting her Aayla Secura Starfighter, and Austin loved all of his battle droids.  I got $75 in “Fat Cat Bucks” to spend at “Fat Cat Books”, which is AWESOME and I also got my Star Wars Postal pictures back fully framed, I got some nice polo shirts, a really nice bath robe that is really plush.  It was a good night overall.  We got done opening gifts and then had some leftovers for dinner while I worked on things like downloading things for Ruth’s MP3 player among other things.  It was a great night!  BUT, we had to get packed because tomorrow, we would be leaving to go to an undisclosed location to celebrate Christmas Eve and Christmas Day.  But, we had to get clothes together and get a majority of things get packed.  We got done with that and then we all decided to go to bed.  It was a long and fun night.  Tomorrow, we hit the road, but Heather had to go to work first!

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 3 of Chapter 3 of “Star Wars:  The Cestus Decption, A Clone Wars Novel” by Steven Barnes…..

Chapter 3 (Part 3):  Shan explained that the Gabonna memory chip is the only one fast enough to operate Class Five Security Droids, and most were Class Four anyway.  The Chancellor said that Cestus had essentially placed all it’s eggs in one basket.  So, as Kit pointed out, Cestus has no trust for The Republic.  Then the Chancellor gave them their task.  They were asked by both The Senate and Jedi Council to get in contact with the Cestian Regent, G’Mai Duris.  Then Palpatine wanted them to regain their trust to try and stop the production of these Jedi Killers.  Obi-Wan stated that they obviously blame The Republic for both their economic collapses and asked if they went to the Trade Council.  Palpatine said they did, and the negotiations collapsed.  He explained that they were told they needed to prepay for any future contracts and The Republic cannot afford to do that.  Kit asked how the sale of a few thousand dorids would be worth so much risk.  Lido explained that the JK’s have become a fashion statement and have increased the value of their product.  Palpatine stated tha ther were further problems involving the lower class of Cestus.  They are all uncivilized criminals that inherited other criminal tendencies, and if a solution is not found, the government could fall into collapse.  Obi-Wan asked why the station had gotten so bad and Palpatine went on to explain that Cestus is an uninhabitable world that’s reliant on outside worlds for everything from soil nutrients to supplies…..

Leave a Reply

