‘Star Wars: The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 3 (Part 2)

It’s Monday, and I have to say that I really didn’t want to have to go to work today.  But, it was Monday and my school district has school today and tomorrow while the other half of the state does not.  I don’t think it’s fair, but then again, life is probably not always fair.  I got up this morning and got myself going along with the kids.  The kids are really excited because two of my kids have Christmas parties this afternoon, so they were excited about getting ready for those.  I managed to calm them all down enough to get ready for school and my babysitter arrived on time and I was off to work and the kids were off to school on time.  I got to work and things were interesting to say the least.  The kids were all fired up, and we had quite a few absent throughout the day today.  I figure it’s mostly students who were traveling for the holidays and needed to leave early.  I managed to get through my day with my students.  It was not a bad day overall considering I had them doing theory work and I’m sure their mind wasn’t on the work that we were doing at all.  I got done with my school day and came home to a house full of wound-up kids and a mother that was on a tirade.  Heather was furious that Austin was not doing his chores yet again!  He was doing the chores, but not effectively and considering he was in charge of cleaning the dishes, he was putting all of our lives at risk.  There were several arguments that ensued and push came to shove and Austin eventually went to bed without any dinner and didn’t go to Boy Scouts.  I, on the other hand, had the weirdest experience tonight.  I got home from work and was extremely cold and for some reason, I could not warm up.  I got through dinner and after dinner I started getting scared.  I had on two pairs of pants, three shirts, two sweatshirts and I was still so cold, I had to turn on a space heater and face it at my face to get any semblance of comfort ability.  I managed to struggle through the night and just was freezing.  It was so bad, I had to try to convince Heather to take the dog out and go to bed early with me.  We went to bed and I was shivering most of the night.  I didn’t have a fever, but I can tell you that by about 2:30 in the morning, something changed and I was no longer cold and seemed a little more comfortable.  I was just hoping I had enough patience and was able to make it through work tomorrow because I’m not allowed to call out sick the day before a major vacation like this without some serious problem.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 2 of Chapter 3 of “Star Wars:  The Cestus Deception” by Steven Barnes…..

Chapter 3 (Part 2):  Fisto questioned this concept and she corrected herself saying that the processors act as life support for an unknown creation.   She then showed them a holographic image of the creature and explained the manufacturer would not reveal any secrets to them.  Obi-Wan asked who the manufacturer was and Shan told him it was Cestus Cybernetics found on the homeworld of Baktoid Armor, Ord Cestus.  She went on to explain that a Cestion contact of theirs told them it’s a Dastha Eel, which is a non-sentient, Force-sensitive being.  Chancellor Palpatine went on to explain that they believe the eels are from Cestus’ Dashta Mountain Range and that Fisto is the first to defeat a JK, and said his thoughts on the matter would be drastically important.  Kit asked when did these Jedi Killers first appear on the market and Palpatine replied saying about a year ago.  He explained that Trade Federation demand led to move production from the Baktoid Armor Workshop, but after the battle of Naboo, the Trade Federation backed off which left Cestus in potential financial ruin, so The Republic made an order, but could not pay on time after the economy spread itself so thin.  More chaos ensued, and then Palpatine asked Lido to explain about the Gabonnas.  Shan explained that when the war began, Gabonna memory crystals were put on a list of restricted items…..

Leave a Reply

