‘Star Wars: The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 2 (Part 3)

Well, it’s Thursday and it’s getting towards the end of the week.  I had a few things to do extra this morning before we got going, so I ended up getting up a little early this morning.  Heather got off to work with no problem and I got the kids up and we got ready for school and work.  This morning they were more subdued than in mornings past.  As we watched the “Today Show” this morning, we found out that the whole Northeast is gearing up for a nasty NorEaster that we’re supposed to be gettign tomorrow.  I’ll believe it when I see it!  I got the kids ready for school and I got ready for work.  The babysitter showed up on time and I was off to work and they were off to school.  I got to school and made the copies I needed to make and headed to my room and had to scramble to get ready for my day today, but got things ready on time.  My eighth graders watched their next segment of their “Jazz” series by Ken Burns, my seventh graders covered the history of Bach with me, and my sixth graders covered the Renaissance Era.  Except for my one sixth grade class.  My class that has been trouble, was given the task of writing my classroom rules and copying why we study music.  They weren’t happy about it, but I had them do it anyway.  We’ll see if they can actually continue this until break and if they’ll get the point.  I got all my things together today for my sub for tomorrow for my mental health day.  Things may change a little tomorrow, but the plan is to get a whole bunch of things done in the morning and then meet up with Heather at work and do some shopping together.  Anyway, I got things together for my sub and had a great day with my PLG group and we even discussed the problems I was having with my class and we talked about the issues and one of the teachers brought up a valid point.  As much as we, as adults, are looking forward to the Christmas break, the students may not be looking forward to the break.  It’s quite possible that their home lives are so chaotic that they would rather be in school than at home.  I’ve lived my life in the other direction so much, it never occured to me that it may go the other direction.  Anyway, I got done with my school day and came home.  I finally finished up the moving of the VCR tapes to the computer tonight and I even moved the “Muppets Christmas Special:  Letters to Santa” to DVD tonight as well.  I also worked on some other odds and ends and even cleaned up my work space in the game room of my house.  I told the kids that tomorrow that if they’re home with me, they’ll need to help me clean the house as Uncle Josh could be showing up tomorrow night or Saturday and we need to make sure the guest bed is clean and cleared.  I then sat down and graded papers as Heather and I watched some T.V.  We got done watching T.V. around eleven o’clock and headed to bed.  Tomorrow, I still needed to wake up with the kids to get them ready for school, so no sleeping in!

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 3 of Chapter 2 of “Star Wars:  The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel” by Steven Barnes…..

Chapter 2 (Part 3):  Obi-Wan thought it odd that the JK was that perfect and even wondered how the droid was capable of this.   As the JK dragged the trooper acrossed the sand, the trooper took out his blaster and aimed it at the technician.  She didn’t even flinch!  Instead, the droid shot an orange energy through the tentacles and the troopers went unconscious a she continued to get dragged by the tentacles.  The crowd was silent as the droid released it’s tentacles and drew them back.  The trooper groaned in pain and managed to pull himself to his knees.  Another trooper helped him leave the main hall.  The entire crowd applauded except Obi-Wan and the other Jedi in the arena, the Nautolan Kit Fisto.  Neither found the injry of another being something to applaud and Obi-Wan wondered if the Nautolan had been summoned as well.  Kit noted Obi-Wan’s clenched hands and asked what was wrong.  Obi-Wan noted that no one cared about the troopers well being.  Then Kit commented about how the war was otu there and he bet the privileged dont’ understand the front lines.  A being in front of them turned around and commented that it was only a clone.  Obi-Wan thought what a convenience having a clone army has become to the populice.  The war no lnger affects the masses.  Another witness commented about how the JK’s earned a reputation among criminals and Obi-Wan asked what that was…..

Leave a Reply

