‘Star Wars: The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 1 (Part 3)

Well, it was a Monday at work and need I say more.  I got up this morning and got the kids going and got them ready for school.  We were all a little groggy simply because it was a long weekend with lots that we had to get done.  Tara was in an okay mood this morning, but her room looked like World War III had happened in there over the weekend.  I had warned her that mom was NOT going to like how that room looked.  I knew this was going to be an issue when I got home.  I was a little worried this morning when I got up because the computer crashed trying to trasfer over the video tapes.  And I don’t mean just crashed, it gave me the blue screen of death.  So, I had to start over with that particular tape today.  So, I fixed the computer and tried to run the tape again.  I got the kids and myself ready for school and the babysitter showed up on time.  I was out the door on my way to work and the kids were on their way to school.  I got to school and on one of my prep periods had to deal with an “issue” that did not make me to happy.  If you wanna know what the issue was (friends and family ONLY), email me and I’ll let you know.  Anyway, it was an issue I felt guilty about all day and even vented a little by writing about it in a journal just to get my frustration out.  I got through my instructional day and then got through my work day and then it was on to other things.  I got done with work and came home and found out the computer had crashed again.  So, we simply skipped that tape and moved on to another tape to record.  I’ll have to come back to the other tape and figure out what is going on.  I worked on that while Heather caught me up on her day.  She explained how some things are going well at home and how some things are not.   She also told me that one of the kids’ teacher’s husband wants her to do some alterations to his pants for a suit.  So, he’ll be stopping by later.  I was excited when the mail arrived because my stuff from CafePress arrived.  I got some polo shirts and bumper stickers and was excited because now I can get Ian his Christmas gift.  Heather and I then put up our Christmas lights outside and then got to work on dinner.  We had ham, scalloped potatoes, and mixed vegetables and it was good!  We got done with dinner and I went downstairs and started to work on notes for the next episode of “The ConservaCast” while I watched “The Simpsons”, “Family Guy” and an hour of “Two and a Half Men”.  We had gotten a phone call to inform us that Boy Scouts was cancelled tonight because of a High School concer, which was fine with me.  I continued to work during commercials of “The Sarah Connor Chronicles”.  I then left and went to Ians to meet him there from work.  He wasn’t in, but I met with Linda for a little bit and then Ian called and said he couldn’t make it, so I told him what I got him and left it with Linda.  I then came home and watched “C.S.I.: Miami” with Heather and then we watched a tape of “The Big Bang Theory” (which was HYSTERICAL, by the way) and we went to bed.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 3 of Chapter 1 of “Star Wars:  The Cestus Deception, A Clone Wars Novel” by Steven Barnes…..

Chapter 1 (Part 3):  The meeting place was the T’Chuk sporting arena where the game of chin-bret was played in front of large crowds.  Today, there was no game however.  it was host to a very different sort of gathering.  As he entered the arena from the tunnel, he saw very few people, but recognized some high-level officials, beurecrats, and some clones.  He deduced his was a war council.  The chaos of The Clone Wars had settled somewhat, but at any given time the war raged on over a hundred different worlds.  But because of age-old alliances, the conflict had the potential to affect trillions.  As the war raged on, families were affected and weapons were becoming more and more effective.  The lines were now drawn between Seperatist and Republic and for many, it meant spilt blood.  The Jedi needed The Republic to win in order to stay around.  this simple concept had both clarity and strength to it.

Leave a Reply

