‘Equipment’ – Part 5

Well, it’s now Wednesday and it’s the day after my concert and I have to say that I’m relieved that the concert is now over.  I’m not sure why I feel that way as I was not stressed over the concert to beging with, but I think it’s just nice to know that it’s one less thing I have to ultimately worry about.  I got up this morning and got the kids ready for the day.  It was an interesting morning as Ruth and Austin got all dressed up in a nice fancy dress and a shirt and tie for school so they could look nice for their daytime concert assembly.  They got ready for school and I got ready for work.  Tara and I went at it this morning because she refused to read her book to our babysitter, so I had to INSIST she do what she is told.  She did it on purpose as an act for her babysitter.  I’m getting tired of the act!  I finished my fight with her and I was off to work and the kids were off to school.  I got things set up for my work day.  The eighth and seventh graders were working on keyboards and my sixth graders were working on recorders.  I managed to make it through my day today with little frustrations.  I got done with my work day and I got home and continued to work on moving my videos over to DVDs.  That took up most of my free time before we ate dinner.  After eating dinner, we went to Ruth and Austin’s concert.  I also began to realize why I hate big crowds with ignorant people!  I had a lady that got mad at me because she had to crawl past me and told her husband that if I had managed to loose a pound or two and not be such a fat ass, maybe she could get by.  She continued to complain about me, and I had to move because I couldn’t listen to her anymore or I was going to say something I was going to regret.  We sat through a wonderful student by my kids and as usual, my son was a complete ham, including marching on stage and marking time and marching off.  I can’t imagine where he learned that from!!  LOL!  We got done with the concert and Heather and I came home and we watched “Criminal Minds” and “CSI:  NY” and then went to bed.  Tomorrow’s weather looks pretty “iffy” and there’s a strong possibility that we will have a snow day or a delay.  Here’s hoping.

Okay, let’s talk about Part 5 of “Equipment” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..Equipment (Part 5):  We were suddenly attacked by cannon blasts out of nowhere.  I saw a DSF bly bay and I yanked my yolk around and took a shot at it and nailed it in the back.  I didn’t have time to watch it explode as they were soon swarmed by droid starfighters.  There were at least thirty-four of them and we were dodging and moving everywhere as Four-One attempted to take some form of evasive action, I kept firing, hitting ships, and doing my best to not hit friendlies.  I saw one of the leaders with it’s hull busted open.  I watched another LAAT/i with a blasted open cockpit and a ball turret blown open, missing it’s gunner as the ship spiraled forward toward the atmosphere below.  I didn’t look for too long as I had to keep firing.  The I felt a hit against my turret and I knew I was in trouble!  My turret was no longer a turret.  I got blown off of the ship and I was now drifting in my bubble and had been reduced to an observer.  I watched two droid starfighters ram the bridge of “The Halleck” then watched the nineteen landers undock as the cruiser left into hyperspace.  The landers were ripped open, but the RP troopers with repulsor packs continued to attack the DSFs even though they knew they were going to die.  I was proud to see them using all their weapons.  Some even used their bodies as weapons moving into flying fighters becoming massive roadblock bodies…..

Leave a Reply

