‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 23 (Part 11)

Well, it’s Black Friday and I have to say that I’m a little depressed today.  This is the first Black Friday that I have not gone out and shopped in the 30 years of my life I can remember.  I’m not quite sure why it happened other than the fact that my wife works for J.C. Penney’s this year and she told me that we could not afford to shop on Black Friday this year.  I have made it a fun and adventurous day in years past.  But, I guess that didn’t matter to Heather.  I got up around nine o’clock this morning and started to watch “Dr. Phil” and in all honesty, I got bored with today’s show.  So, out of boredom and sheer curiosity I headed over to the Sci Fi channel and they were running a marathon of the “Mork and Mindy” show.  I have to say that I have really been enjoying those shows and kept switching back and forth to the show as the day went on.  While I did that, I caught up on my blog and did some editing for the next TJCS episode.  I also did some more grading for school and I just have to input them tomorrow and I’m done with it for a while.  Heather got home around noon and we watched “Mork and Mindy” upstairs and watched T.V. together for a little while.  Then Heather and I took a little nap togehter while the kids watched “Rudolph The Red Nosed Reindeer” on DVD.  When we got up, we all went downstairs and watched “Elf” and “The Santa Clause” to continue our Christmas spirited day going.  In amongst all that, I continued my fight with Pinnacle to try and install the software for my Dazzle hardware and still have yet to solve the actual problem.  We then ate dinner and then put up the Christmas tree while we all watched “The Polar Express” on T.V.  It ended at ten o’clock and I continued watching “Mork and Mindy” while I blogged for today.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 11 of Chapter 23 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 23 (Part 11):  Mace said he could kill him, though he would rather not.  Kar asked if this was another Jedi rule, but Mace asked if he was going to attack as he was getting too tired for all of this.  Vastor said he could sleep when he was dead.  Kar’s chrome flashed as hi shield moved forward, but Mace dodged his move and decided he had no intention of fighting this man.  Not ever.  No, Kar was younger, stronger, and carried weapons a Jedi blade was no match against.  But Mace knew that their weapons were still vulnerable.  As Vastor went to leap forward, the vibroshield that was stuck in the wall, came to life at the command of Mace and a touch through The Force.  The shield whirled through the air toward’s Vastor’s back, but the Korun reacted quickly to block it.  But he didn’t block anything as the vibrating edge of the shield coming at hime wnt through because Vastor used his shields back to back, not edge to edge to block.  The vibroshield Mace used cut through both of Kar’s vibroshields, through both wrists and into his chest.  Vastor was astonished and told Mace he killed him.  Mace then told him that he did not and that was another Jedi rule, no need to kill him.  Mace told him he was under arrest and would go back to Coruscant to stand trial…..

Leave a Reply

