‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 23 (Part 9)

Wednesday, and it was my first day of vacation.  I had plans on being relaxed and getting a bunch of things done.  Of course, not many things go completely according to plan.  I got up this morning around nine o’clock and started my day off by watching “Dr. Phil” on T.V.  Then I did the worst thing I could do on a day off from school.  I put in “The Force Unleashed”.  I spent the rest of my morning trying to beat the game.  I sincerely got stuck on the level where I had to bring down the Star Destroyer and got stuck on it for over two hours.  It was frustrating and I paused the game around noon in order to go upstairs and ate some lunch with the family.  The gentleman from Rent A Center came and basically told me we needed to replace the computer, so he was going to come back with one.  In the meantime, Heather had gone to work and came home and I was able to spend some time with her.  We talked for a little while as she made pies and what-not for Thanksgiving tomorrow.  Then I went back downstairs and continued playing “The Force Unleashed” and finally beat the game.  I took a little bit of a nap and then got up and started doing my research and show notes for the latest episode of “The Conservacast”.  While I did this, Heather left and picked up the new computer from Rent A Center and did some errands and came home.  I finished my notes in time for dinner and I went upstairs and joined the family for some dinner.  We ate and I went back downstairs and recorded the show.  I got it done and put it up on the website, and it can be found here:  http://www.conservacast.mypodcast.com.  I then watched some T.V. with Heather and we watched “The New Adventures of Old Christine”, “Garry Un-Married”, “Criminal Minds”, and “C.S.I.: NY” while we taped “Law and Order”.  I then went upstairs and started to work on the new computer tower.  I spent most of my night frustrated with “Pinnacle”, as I went to reinstall their software for the “Dazzle” I have upstairs, but my serial number no longer works.  Frustration!  So much so, I couldn’t solve the problem and I went to bed at midnight without a solution to the problem.  Well, tomorrow is Thanksgiving, let’s hope it will be just as relaxed.  We have Ian and Lynda coming over and I can’t wait to spend some time with the two of them.

Well, enough of all of that, it’s time for us to talk about Part 9 of Chapter 23 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 23 (Part 9):  Mace could feel Geptun’s panic.  To Mace, it was a gift.  He turned away and turned off his blade as Depa moved in for the kill.  Mace kept moving away as she lept forward slashing and attacking.  He kept dodging until was backed against a console and couldn’t move.  As she moved in for the first blow, Mace dropped to the floor at her knees.  She slashed the console instead of Mace, destroying it’s electronics.  It was the console that held the spaceport’s signal jamming equipment.  Suddenly, in the bunker below, Geptun’s screen read COMMAND EXECUTED.  In the skies above Pelek Baw, the Droid Starfighters began to disengage witht he clone piloted ships.  Mace felt the dark powers in the center crest and then recede.  He noticed a light in Depa’s face as she lay on the floor looking up.  She turned off her lightsaber and told Mace she was sorry.  She then put the emitter up to her own temple and told Mace they shouldn’t have come here.  Mace yelled at her as she squeezed the activator.  But a shot rang out from behind Mace and the lightsaber went flying out of her hand and into the wreckage on the floor.  Depa was amazed she was alive and fell into a lump on the floor.  Mace looked back at the source of the blaster shot and Nick looked up and grinned and said to Mace that he told him he could shoot.  Then Nick fell to the floor and closed his eyes.  As he drifted into eternal darkness, Mace whispered “thank you”.  Mace noted how quiet it had become.  Quiet till he heard a familiar low growl…..

Leave a Reply

