‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 23 (Part 8)

Well, it was Tuesday and Heather’s day off from work for this week.  I got up this morning to their being snow and ice on the ground.  I turned on the T.V. and found out the kids had an hour delay today and I had to get to work on time.  Heather helped me out and made breakfast for me while I took a shower and got ready for my day.  I was a little upset that I didn’t even have a delay this morning and I have to admit that as I drove my car to school, the roads were not good.  I even got stuck behind a truck and got to work a little later than I wanted to.  I got things together for the day and worked with my classes this morning.  Some of my students were upset that we were actually doing work in my class.  But, as I explained to them, when I only have ten weeks for my class, I really don’t have the luxury of not doing work just before breaks, especially this quarter as I have less time this quarter than I do in other quarters.  At lunch I went out with the usually group of teachers to the pizza shop.  We got back from lunch and found out all the other bloc leaders had a meeting at lunch that I never got contacted about.  I have to say this was a bad turn to a day that turned out worse. I was pretty miffed about this the rest of the day and I was just ultimately NOT in a good mood.  I found out through the course of the day today that Heather let our Netflix membership lapse and got on her case about it.  She wasn’t happy with me because I was upset with her for driving out to her sisters on a day that had such bad weather.  I really thing she just doesn’t care that I worry about her, especially when she is on her own.  But, I was now officially having a bad day.  I called her on my way home and vented about my problems with Netflix and with school.  She then told me that she was trying to check on Netflix and the computer wasn’t working.  I got home and took a look at our desktop computer and learned that our desktop was pretty much dead.  She had called Rent A Center already telling them that we had a monitor problem, but I told her it was a problem with the computer as the computer was acting like there was no hard drive inside.  It literally wasn’t working anymore.  Now I wasn’t happy at all.  I went downstairs and checked on some things while Heather made some dinner upstairs.  We sat down and ate dinner together.  Not too long after dinner, Ian showed up and talked with Heather and I.  He and his wife asked Heather and I to be the godparents for their future baby.  I was honored that he asked and Heather and I said we would have to discuss it and would talk to him later about it.  We got done talking and Ian and I went downstairs and started recording for the latest episode of TJCS.   I taped “Fringe” while we did this and at ten o’clock I watched my tape.  Then Heather and I went to bed.  I’m looking forward to having the day off tomorrow.  That, and Rent A Center is supposed to show up and fix the computer and I plan on having a relaxed day.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 8 of Chapter 23 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 23 (Part 8):  Geptun said in absolute fear trying to work with the small transceiver as he realized theere were fewer and fewer blaster bolts being fired upstairs, which meant hsi men were dying.  he fumbled with the datapad and transceiver as his nerves were causing his hands to shake.  He keyed the recall sequence for the DSFs, but nothing happened.  The screen read ECM Fault.  Electronic Counter Measure.  The signal jamming was still on…..

Leave a Reply

