‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 23 (Part 1)

Monday.  Well, it was the beginning of the work week and I was exhausted today.  I got up after hearing my alarm go off twice and got up and got the kids going for the day.  I know it’s going to be an interesting week because my children argued with each other all morning long this morning getting ready for school.  I managed to get them to be a little civil with each other as we watched the “Today” show as they did their report from the “ends of the Earth”.  It got a little old with the “we’re destroying our planet” concept.  I get it, we’re destroying your precious planet and we’re destroying that everyone holds dear in the deep blue sea and we’re destroying the trees for the tree huggers.  Oh, wait!  Snap!  That’s the forest fires in California that are doing that!  So, we got ourselves ready and I left for work while the kids went to school.  I got to school and got things ready for the day today and had a decent day with my students.  My one class was testing my rules yet again.  I give them about another day until someone is going to be removed from class.  We had our book club luncheon at lunch today, which I totally forgot about and Heather dropped off my soda just before lunch.  We had a nice book club luncheon and then I finished up my day.  I got quite a bit done and I have to say that it’s nice to start getting caught up on paper work and other things at school.  I’m actually catching up on emails as well.  Hopefully I can stay on top of all of this stuff.  It really bothers me when I get behind on work.  I got home to Ruth having problems with homework that I had to help her out with.  We sat down and helped her and then it was on to fixing up the basement.  Heather and I watched a tape of “The Unit” while I made one more posterboard for the basement and hang it up.  So, I’m done with posterboards for now.  After that, I watched “Amazing Race” on tape and Heather went upstairs and made dinner.  We had a nice dinner of open faced turkey sandwiches with gravy on low carb bread.  After dinner I went downstairs and worked on some things and then came upstairs and started ebaying some items in our house.  About an hour later, I took Austin to Boy Scouts and came home and spray painted his helmet and continued Ebaying.  Then I broke out my Star Wars book and read while watching “The Sarah Connor Chronicles”, “Heroes”, and “C.S.I.:Miami” and then Heather and I went to bed.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 1 of Chapter 23 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 23 – The Hard Way  As the door opened, smoke and the smell of death came about.  As the smoke cleared the room was dark, but fromt he little light there was, bodies were visible everywhere.  All types of individuals from amored military to civilians and they were all dead.  Mace noted how a lightsaber wound was clean as it cauterized as it cut.  But, a vibroshield was not.  Nick moved inside along the wall and everyghing remained eerily quiet.  Mace called out to Depa and Kar and asked them to show themselves.  Kar growled and told Mace that they don’t have to be enemies.  He said they are on the same side and that he has won the planet for him.  Mace said Kar was never his people and as long as poeple like him exist, the Jedi will fight.  He deosn’t have to win, he just has to fight them.  Nick shot at a shadow that lept around the room causing Mace to swing his blade as well.   Mace didn’t feel it coming and knew that Kar was using dark powers to maks hims movement.  Mace asked Nick if he got him and Nick said he didn’t, but Mace said he thought he got a piece of him.  Nick asked where he came from and Mace said he thinks they’re hiding among the dead bodies.  Then Kar told Mace that he can’t feel him here.  he can’t feel him because of pelekotan.  Mace whispered it wasn’t him, but Kar corrected him saying it was one-eighth of him.  Kar told him that he’ lost her to pelekotan and a dream of a Balawai-free world…..

Leave a Reply

