‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 22 (Part 1)

Well, it was Saturday and I wanted to be able to sleep in and say that it was a relaxing day, but reality was that it was just not.  We ended up getting up around eight o’lcock or so this morning and started to get breakfast together for the girls that had a sleepover.  We had waffles which was a nice change of pace for breakfast this morning.  The girls then started to pack things up downstairs because Ruth’s friend’s mother was coming to pick her up and Ruth was going to another Girl Scout event and I was going to a Binghamton FanForce event myself today.  It was just going to be massively busy!  So, the friend’s mother came and picked her up and Heather took Ruth up to the Giant where they were fundraising money for tomorrow’s event and I was left home alone.  Austin and I got my gear together and got it loaded into the car.  We then were on our way to the Ross Corners Christian Academy to help raise funds for the school to help with operating expenses for the school for the rest of the year.  We got to the school and found the people in charge fairly quickly and they were VERY kind people.  They got us to our changing room and gave us tickets to get chicken barbecue later.  Austin and I started to get things unloaded and ran into Danny after a while.  We then all started to change and get into costume and got out onto the floor.  It was interesting the reactions that we got.  Some kids thought it was great and so did their parents, and other parents thought that Star Wars was sacreligious and that we were doing something that was anti-religious based in a Christian school setting.  All well, they’ll have to get over it.  I did have one very interesting experience today though.  The police had one of their K-9s as part of a demonstration for the students and adults to see during the event.  Well, evidently the K-9s don’t like Kal Falco.  I entered the room because it was in between the event and our changing room and when I entered the room, the K-9 stood straight up and eyed me.  When I went to enter the room he growled at me and the control officer had to tell him to back off twice and he still growled, so he yelled at the dog in German and the dog finally backed off.  I guess you could say that I almost became K-9 Bantha Poodoo.  After some time, Heather joined me witht he girls and they got in costume and Allen and Danielle showed up not too long before that and we had quite a presence at this event.  We even managed to take a nice professional quality pic of the group that was there.  Here, take a look:

 

Needless to say, it really was a fun event and we took a lot of those professional style pictures with kids because a guy was there offering to do it for free.  It was just a fun day and overall, we also got a free meal out of it because they gave us chicken barbecue to take home.  Heather left before me and the kids came home with me.  When we got home, we unloaded the car and found out that Ruth’s headpiece had paint on it from Austin’s knee pads.  So, evidently, I need to repaint the knee pads or scrap them altogther.  So much for trying to make him a merc!  We then sat down and ate the chicken barbecue and Heather made some of her own chicken and I watched the beginning of the Penn State game.  After dinner/lunch, I then went downstairs and watched the rest of the Penn State game while I graded final exams to try and finish them up.  I was ready to cry when Penn State lost in the waning minutes of the game.  So much for the National Championships, right?!!!  Man, that sucks!  I got done with all of that and started to input grades into my gradebook and before I knew it, it was ten o’clock and I was going to have to go to bed because tomorrow was going to be another long day, yet again!  Man, I’ll be glad to have this day off coming up to just sit around and do nothing!  Oi!

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 1 of Chapter 22 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 22 (Part 1):  Surrender – The Washeteria was a dismal building among the etchings of a burned out city street.  Nick made a crack aobut the colonel needing a shower, and so would they, but Mace told them to knock it off and get out.  As they got out the noncom said they should have gone to the ministry and he should put the two of them in binders.  Mace told them they should forget both ideas as they discovered the door had been locked.  Mace cut the door open and they pryed the door open to fidn a hornets nest worth of militia men with heavy repeaters and various heavy guns pointed at the door.  The noncom said he had captured the men they were looking for, when a familiar voice told them to enter.  Mace recognized the man and asked how his nose was from when he first landed on the planet.  As the mand reached for his blaster, Mace pulled out, ignited, and looked down the blade of his lightsaber and suggested the large man not do that…..

Leave a Reply

