‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 20 (Part 7)

Well, it was Wednesday today and you think I’d be happy that the middle of the week is gone and that I’m going into the end of the week.  But in all reality, I’m not.  I feel like time is flying by and somehow I’m jsut standing still.  Anyone that has kids knows what I’m talking about and they know that feeling this way is a horrible feeling.  I got up this morning and really hit the ground running.  Heather was home again this morning, so it was nice to have another adult to give me a swift kick to get my rear end moving for the day.  While I took a shower, Heather cooked me some ham and eggs which I got to eat for breakfast, which was a nice change of pace.  It was nice because instead of having scrambled eggs (which I’m actually getting tired of), I got to have some nice fried eggs, which was okay by me.  The kids got off to school on time and I got off to work on time.  Work was going to be interesting as we were having our book club luncheon today and Heather said she would bring in the dish (I had the main dish, as I had picked the book – “Star Wars:  Republic Commandos – Hard Contact”) around eleven o’clock, but I reminded her I had a class then.  So, I had to get in and ask Deb if I could use her room to heat up my dish until it was tiime for lunch.  I then went to the main office to pick up my mail and found out from one of my friends that another friend of mine’s wife died.  His name is Merv and I hope you all pray for Merv in some way.  His wife has been battling Cancer for about a year now, maybe more, and she died recently and I feel bad as Merv has always been a great friend and I hope all is well with him.  So, needless to say, I started my day out on a fairly somber note.  I got into my school day with my students and Heather showed up with the dish on time and we put it in Deb’s oven to warm it up as Heather had just made the dish and it was still pretty warm.  She was even sweet enough to bring in some pot-holders and a spoon for the dish.  I then went upstairs and taught my fifth period class and went and got the dish for the book club luncheon.  When I got to the luncheon, there were not a lot of people there!  I was a little shocked, but didn’t take it personally.  There’s just been a lot of things going on and I think everyone was busy.  But we had our book club anyway and Merv was there.  It was nice to see him and it was nice to see he was okay.  We got done with book club and I finished up with my day with my students and then had to have a discussion with a fellow teacher about something that happened earlier in the day.  The last period of the day, I was debriefed about a grant the library has received and ways I can help and it appears that I may be able to find a summer job through that grant for this summer.  We’ll have to see, but it may be a cool job to have this summer.  I got done with school and talked some politics with some friends and got out the door late.  I got home and again was working like mad.  I finished the tentacles for Tara’s Twileek outfit and then I was onto making the headband and the intersection for the tentacles, which took me most of the night as I hand sewed that all together.  I even got graced by the presence of Ian who brought over an awesome gift of a “Bounty Hunter Parking Only” sign.  I’ll have to take a picture of it and post it here:

After my visit with Ian I continued working and then put together the notes for my podcast that I planned on recording tomorrow night.  There’s a lot to get done before the weekend and before Halloween, so I pretty much worked all night and didn’t pay close attention to the T.V.  I got done with all of that and it was time to go to bed.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 7 of Chapter 20 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 20 (Part 7):  Mace commented that this is what he thought they were doing as he sent a message through The Force to his associate Nick Rostu.  Nick turned to speak softly to a nearby trooper.  Then Geptun went on to explain that back at the Pass, he has fifteen thousand men on the ground with some support by DSFs that have wrecked the landers by now.  He then told Mace that he suspected they would try to collapse the last tunnel entrance, but that would bea useless gesture now as he has sappers already clearing the way down the other tunnels.  He told Mace they’ll be in within the hour and Mace commented about having an hour, but Geptun explained that his troops are now mad and may be motivated to move faster than that.  Mace explained that there are over two-thousand civilians inside, most of whom are the old and the young.  Geptun said the only way they can be stopped is if Mace and his men surrender at the spaceport……

Leave a Reply

