‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 20 (Part 3)

Well, it was Saturday and a weekend where I don’t have anything Star Wars related planned.  At least not as far as an event is concerned.  Since I got to bed late this morning trying to resolve the issue with my podcast, I thought now was the time to sleep in a little, so I did.  My kids didn’t mind so much as they had a chance to relax and watch some cartoons this morning which was kind of nice for all of us.  So, Heather and I got up around ten o’clock this morning.  She headed off to the post office and I got up and headed right downstairs and continued to work putting the podcast from last night together.  It was a long and gruelling process.  I had to put it together based on the segments that got split up from when Audacity crashed.  Basically, each little segment was about ten seconds  of the podcast.  You would be amazed at how long it takes to put together thirty minutes of talking at ten second intervals.  I did manage to find a new cool feature on my T.V. this morning though.  I turned to “Fantastic Four:  Rise of the Silver Surfer” with about fifteen minutes to go in the movie and my Time Warner box said I could hit “Select” to repeat the show.  I thought this was cool and decided to do it, and voila, I had a TIVo feature on my T.V. now and the movie started from the beginning.   It was totally cool and I hope I get to keep this feature now!  While I watched the movie I continued to work on my podcast from last night.  Heather, in the meantime, went to Aldi’s and apparently Wal Mart.  Austin was outside raking leaves to make up for the backpack incident earlier in the week and to pay for a new band book.  I got done working on the podcast around noon and offered to tape “Flip This House” for Heather while she was out.  She got back and I got to work on my big project for the day that I had planned.  Heather got me tights in Tara’s size and some spray foam, and it was time to put together Tara’s Aayla Secura tentacles.  I tried one technique I read about on the Internet and that didn’t work.  So, I went with my own technique and that seemed to work better.  The bad news was that I got spray foam all over myself and Heather and we weren’t very happy because the stuff sticks and then rips your skin off as it comes off.  Needless to say, I had spray foam everywhere till I mastered the technique down.  As I finished with that, I painted a plaque the student teacher from technology gave me and I organized my comics and pulled out a few that were written by Rodger Stern as he is going to be at the Syracuse Heroes Expo next weekend and I want him to sign those comics, including one of my favorite “Captain America” comics which will be cool.  I got done with that and Heather called everyone together for dinner.  Man, time flew this afternoon and I didn’t feel like I got a lot done.  I ate dinner with the family and then headed back to our bedroom and proceeded to organize our bedroom.  I hadn’t done that since early March of last year and needless to say it was a disaster zone and needed to be done.  I got done with that and went back downstairs and did the other half of the foam for the tentacles.  I got done with that and went and debugged the problems I was having with Skype from earlier in the afternoon.  I was about to give up tonight, when I think I finally got it to work and managed to call Novall on Skype successfully.  I got that done and went to take off the headphones and the ear pad disintegrated as I went to take them off.  Heather said we could get a new headset tomorrow as I had a Skype meeting for the Mercs tomorrow night and I’m looking forward to it now as I can now participate.  I got done with that and Heather and I talked about tomorrow and all that was going to be happening then.  It was quite the busy day and I didn’t get done what I really wanted to get done, which was recording the next segment for “Hovering Rocks”, but I figure I can do that tomorrow.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 3 of Chapter 20 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover……

Chapter 20 (Part 3):  As the gunship was about to land, it opened fire on the guardhouses of the control center and seven half-naked Korunnai members jumped out of the same gunship.  They ran toward the control center with their blaster rifles spewing out fire.  Behind them were a man and a woman carrying the most recognizable weapon in the galaxy, Jedi lightsabers.  The crew was so dumb-founded, they didn’t look up until their light was eclipsed by the approaching landers.  Their reaction time was so slow that the anti-ship emplacements were taken down by clone soldiers without a single loss of life.  The clones killed with ferocity and were soon replacing the crewmen with their own clone gunners.  The fight at the control center lasted longer, but with the overwhelming force of the Jedi and the Akk Guards, the outcome was the same.  The capture of Pelek Baw spaceport lasted less than seven minutes and resulted in the capture of two-hundred eighty six enemies, thirty-five wounded, forty-one killed, and sixty-one civilians detained.  All of the aerospace defenses were captured intact.  Between the Battle of Lorshan Pass and the capture of Pelek Baw, this mission could be the highlight of General Windu’s career.  But not all operations go as planned and this one was no exception to the rule……

Leave a Reply

