‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 20 (Part 2)

Well, it was Thursday and what a Thursday it had been today!  I had high hopes of getting a lot done today, but unfortunatetly, I believe I always set my expectations too high and am constanlty let down when I don’t reach the goals I wanted to reach.  I got myself up this morning and got the kids up and going for the day and my bad day started from the beginning and I hate to put it this way, but my son started my day on a bad note.  He informed me this morning that he had a minor problem as he had a water leak in his backpack.  I found his book, his band book, a new book we bought him and some other papers soaking wet in his bag!  So, I had him clear everything out of the bag and we tried to dry everything off.  I was furious because he didn’t seem too upset about it.  Then I found out from Heather that Austin had done this yesterday afternoon and she had told him to take everything out of the bag and he didn’t!  Needless to say, I was furious with my son for not taking care of his problems in a timely manner.  We were able to save everything but his band book, so I told him we would have to buy a new one and he was going to earn the money to pay for the book by doing work around the house and in the yard, in particular, raking leaves.  He wasn’t happy, but I think he understood that he ddi something fairly serious.  So, I started my day off on a bad note and headed off to work.

I got to work a little later than I wanted to, but got things going for the day.  I gave my eighth grade students some time to study a little before their tests today hoping that by being a good guy, I would get better grades out of my students.  Looking at the answers they gave, that may not have been the case.  My seventh graders were given the task of finishing up their music history today as well as my sixth graders.  They werent able to finish, but we are very close to having it finished by the end of class.  I made it through my day and was amazed I had any sanity left by the end of the day.  At lunch today, I went upstairs to meet up with my mentee and my mentee didn’t even show up.  I found out later from my mentee that he wasn’t told till today that I was his mentor.  Well, we’ll have to make up for it later.  I hosted a PLG today and managed to make it through the day today.  It was a long day, but it was okay.

I got home and started to work on some things while Heather headed out and got the Cherry Dale order from school for the kids.  The first thing I worked on was my T.V. downstairs.  I finally got MY T.V. back and I had to make sure it was wired up correctly.  I did all of that and then started to work on the boards for The Force.net.  We’ve had the same header on our boards for the Binghamton FanForce for a long time, so I thought now would be a good time to change the boards.  I worked on this for some time and came upstairs and had some dinner with the family and went right back to work on the headers to submit them.  Then I realized I did not know who to submit it to.  So a PM was sent to take care of the issue.  I got done with that and needed to head off to the church.

I had a meeting with Rodney, who is the guy who is in charge of the lights/sound/ and computers at our church and I have to say that I met a guy that I can totally understand.  Rodney reminds me of an older version of myself.  We had a great meeting and I even helped him brainstorm some solutions to the problems they are having.  We got done with that and I came home and watched some T.V. with Heather and went right to bed.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 2 of Chapter 20 of “Star Wars:   Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 20 (Part 2):  According to their sensors, everything had been taken car of.  DSFs landed hours ago, gunships headed home and Republic Landing crafts had dissappeared.  They had no doubt that the Republic troopers woudl not attack as they had suffered more than forty percent losses and they were certain to simply want for extraction.  What these workers didn’t kno was that their satellites were as out of date as the other equipment on this planet.  The detectors on their satellites had a hard time distinguishing between the ground and air because of the mix of toxic gasses and metal deposits in the ground.  This meant that if the landers sayed close to the ground, they essentially disappeared.  However, a keen sensor tech may have been able to see what was known that was coing.  A tech may have been able to use a short range sensor to catch the etn Jadtha-class Republic ships coming straight down the Downrush Falls in single file motion, they may have had a chance.  Their one and only chance.  But the techs were busy watching the gunship on it’s decent to the spaceport……

Leave a Reply

