‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 20 (Part 1)

Well, it was Wednesday and the middle of the work week.  It was a good day all around and it ended on some up news, but we’ll get to all of that in a minute.  Let’s start off the day.  I got up this morning and got the kids going for school.  We were all very tired today, but were excited to get ready for the day.  I got up and took a shower and for a change of pace, my wife was actually here, so she got up and cooked me some fresh breakfast.  I have to say it was a nice change of pace having her around as it meant that she was here to help get the kids ready and she was here to help make the day start off on a good note.  It was just nice.  I got off to school on time and the kids were off to the bus stop on time.  Once I got to school I was “go, go, go” pretty much all day long.  My students were doing piano and recorders today and things seems to go pretty smoothly.  The only class that is getting me on edge is my seventh graders.  They have decided that NOW is a good time to get lazy and give up in my class.  I’ve had to prod them a little more than I’ve wanted to in years past.  I swear, each year my seventh graders want to do less and less work.  But, I did manage to make it through my day today.  I tried to call Jeff, the guy handling the Syracuse Heroes Expo and he told me to call back tonight.  I also managed to organize things for our PLG tomorrow.  I put together a packet I want everyone to look at as PLG concepts and what they want to do and what they would like to use as protocols.  After the school day I came home and took a nap with Heather for a little bit.  Then we got the kids together and we all ate dinner together.  It wasn’t the best dinner ever.  We had some nice steak, but Heather smothered it with some gravy where she use a Bouillon beef base for the gravy.  It made it EXTREMELY salty.  So much so, the kids almost didn’t choke down dinner.  We got done with dinner and I went outside and worked on Austin’s grenade launcher.  Not long after, Heather took off with the girls to go to Girl Scouts and not long after she left, I received a call from J.C. Penny’s and I gave them her cell phone number.  She called back no more than fifteen minutes later and told me the good news – she had the job!  Yeah, that means she’ll be putting her two-weeks notice in at Wendy’s soon and I think that will make Heather a VERY happy camper!  I called Jeff again tonight and he didn’t answer his phone – on THREE seperate occasions.  Man, I hope this is not signs that I’m going to get ignored yet again, which I’m sure I am!  I got done with all of that and I was wiped out.  I caught up on some things on the Mercs boards and blogged for a little bit and then got some grading done for school.  I did all of this while I watched “Knight Rider”, and “Lipstick Jungle” and taped “C.S.I. N.Y.”.  After that, I went to bed because I was exhausted.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 1 of Chapter 20 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover……

Chapter 20 (Part 1):  Dejarik – The key to the Gevarno Loop and the key to that as the Al’Har system and that was controlled by the droid starfighter fleet.  The DSFs were being controlled by a transmitter just below the command bunker of the Pelek Baw spaceport.  Taht spaceport had only one chance.  Two of the landers along with their troops landed at the Lorshan Pass and made a defensive perimeter along with some light artillery.  The other ten went on over the mountains toward Pelek Baw at their top speed, which isn’t very fast at all.  Only one of the gunships made it to Pelek Baw.  The pilot talked to the tower and tried to explain they had a massive radiation breach and it limped back to Pelek Baw as they were the only place on the planet taht had a decontamination field.  News spread quickly as the battle at the Lorshan Pass was the biggest thing that happened on this planet in a very long time.  The ship and it’s crew were now looked upon as heroes and everyone was watching the gunship on it’s way toward the spaceport.  There was hope they would make it and there was also hope they would crash in a giant ball of fire!  But everyone was ignoring their duties, including monitoring their sensors……

Leave a Reply

