‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 19 (Part 11)

Tuesday and I had high hopes for my day today and knew I could get things done for the day today and was surprised to really get as much accomplished as I did.  I got up this morning and was a little tired, but felt much better than yesterday.  I got myself going for the day and managed to get the kids going for the day.  We were all surprised just how cold it was outside and it was hard to hear that we are supposed to get some snow flakes by the middle of the work week this week.  I’ll believe it when I see it, but those of you that believe in Global Warming better look at the trends in the NorthWest and NorthEast!  So much for global warming.  Oh, wait, like Al Gore said over ten years ago, maybe we’re going into a new Ice Age.  Huh, seems like he can’t seem to make up his mind!  Anyway, I got myself going and the kids were on their way to school while I was on my way to work.

It was an okay work day.  I got a lot done with my students but one of my classes has really fallen behind in their work and their constant socializing and distractions are starting to get annoying.  I’m really getting bothered and I’m having to lay down the law more and more every day.  It just gets tedious trying to enforce the rules I set in place from the start.  I know they were testing the grounds at first, but now we’re beyond testing.  Now we’re just trying to drive me insane and it’s working.  I managed to make my way through the day and talked to Heather for a little bit right after work and then worked on the backstory of my Mando on the Mandalorian Mercs boards before I drove Matt and myself over to SMASH rehearsal.  Man, was it cold outside!  We had a really good SMASH rehearsal and everything went well as expected.  I managed to input all the kids’ cell numbers into my phone and discovered a “group” feature on there I had never discovered before.  I also managed to finish the database for the group, and although it took forever, I emailed it to Jim.  I also noticed they had their brand new VCR/DVD combos installed and they look really nice.

I got done with SMASH and Jim is talking to me about coming back AGAIN as a staff member for the Vestal Marching Band.  As much as I like Marching Bands, I’m actually enjoying my time away from it.  I’m actually happier away from it.  It feels good to not have that pressure.  Heather called me on the way home and told me she would be bringing home dinner from work as she had to go to Marsha’s and then Wendy’s.  She told me she had not heard anything yet from Penney’s but that they expect to hear back soon.  I got home and watched “Family Guy” while I checked out my email and was surprised to receive some information from a group that I had been looking for, for a long while now and they finally coughed up the information.  I then ate some dinner with Heather and caught up on some work around the house and organized a little bit.  I watched “Fringe” and “Law and Order:  Special Victims Unit” and then went to bed with Heather, who actually had a day off from work tomorrow.  The first time in about four months.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 11 of Chapter 19 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint,  A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover……

Chapter 19 (Part 11):  She looked up at the dogfight above, and said this battle had become a complete masterpiece.  Mace said the day was not over yet.  She noted that what Mace was doin here was not going to help for long.  He would destroy their aripower, but it would only be a matter of days, maybe weeks.  But, the Korunnai will still be in the jungle fighting the Balawai who will buy more gunships.  Their only weapons was the fear fo the jungle was their only weapon.  Mace said not today and told Depa that he decided she was right all along.  Depa couldn’t believe what she was hearing.  Mace said that to walk away while the only options for the Korunnai are genocide or to commit genocide is only the way of the dark side.  There is fighting to be done adn the Jedi cannot walk away.  Depa was dumb-founded and asked Mace if he was going to give up on the Clone War to join the Summertime War.  Mace said he was not going to quit the Clone War and that the Summertime War was only going to last another twelve hours, maybe less.  Depa could only stare as Mace finally had the moment he was looking for.  He showed Depa on the screen how the droid starfighters were leaving the fight.  He asked Depa what this means and she said they figured out their plan.  Mace said yes and that this person has control of the codes for the droid starfighters.  Mace said he doesn’t have months or weeks to spare and she asked Mace what they are going to do and Mace said win.  He opened the comm to CRC-09/571 and ordered simultaneous data link called Tightbeam.  Depa almost crashed the ship into the mountainside and asked Mace if he had gone insane.  Mace said the contrary, and that there’s nothing more dangerous than a Jedi that’s gone sane.  Mace asked for his lightsaber back as he said he was going to need it.  Depa said he was going to attempt to take Pelek Baw, but Mace corrected her and said they were going to take the whole system, right now!

Leave a Reply

