‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 19 (Part 8)

Saturday and a long day it was.  Heather and I both woke up pretty late this morning, but only because of how exhausted we were from our last week and from going to bed late last night.  So, we got up around nine o’clock this morning.  Heather took off and picked up the kids and headed to the post office to mail some of the items that people one on Ebay from us.  I worked on getting my stuff together today for the zoo event.  I made sure I finished some other things around the house that I needed to get done before we headed out.  Before I left, I got a message from two of my members saying they wouldn’t be there.  Well, while I was having some breakfast, the kids let me know that they each had plenty of sleep last night at the lock in, which Heather and I didn’t think was going to happen.  So, they begged me to let them go with me to the “Boo at the Zoo” event.  So, I succumbed to their cute wims and they all quick got their costumes together, which got me off to a late start.  But, that was okay because it gave me some more hands to help out with the event.  Ruth was dressed as Ahsoka Tano, Austin as Ad’Carud Falco, and Tara decided to get dressed in her High School Musical Cheerleading outfit and was a good sport about not having a Star Wars costume yet.  We got to the zoo and I talked to them about letting us set up our Death Star and they said they would find a spot for us.  Danny showed up not too long after I got there and we all got dressed into costumes and James showed up and got into Danny’s Jedi, which was nice because it gave us an extra costumer and it was nice to see James in a costume and I think he felt like he was really part of the group now.  Not too long after all of that (one o’clock or so) Jeff showed up with our Death Star game and a fog machine and we were in business.  We had a GREAT day with the kids and the event went really well.  In all honesty, we were a hit with the kids, parents, and all the staff at the zoo as well.  It was lots of fun too!  We got done with the event, which seemed to fly by and Jeff and I waited for Danny’s ride and goofed around for a while.  We headed home and were tired and hungry.  When we got in the door, Heather thanked me for an entire day without the kids and said she simply relaxed all day long.  Once we all got into the house and unpacked, we had a dinner of meatloaf and vegetables, which was great after a long day like this.  The best part was the fact that we watched the Penn State game while we ate dinner and I got a chance to see Penn State come back and beat Michigan in the second half of the game.  I worked on some things while watching the game, but pretty much tried to chill and relax a little.  After the game, the kids headed to bed and Heather suggested we Pay-Per-View a movie, so we watched “The Love Guru” with Mike Myers and I have to say I went into this movie with low expectations and was surprised that it was such a funny movie.  Well worth the rent if anyone is considering it!  We got done with the movie and headed off to bed.  By this point, I felt like I had been run over by a truck, so I needed to make sure I got to bed at a decent hour.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 8 of Chapter 19 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 19 (Part 8):  As both gunships broke the perimeter of the DSFs, they both emptied their salvos of Krupx MG3 mini missiles, both front and back leaving behind a dogfight full of vapor trails.  Nick noted that most of the DSFs were avoiding his missiles, but Mace said it didn’t matter.  Nick thought Mace had lost his mind, but the Jedi Master told him to just watch.  The final act was even less impressive.  Only six missiles hit their intended target and the rest simply missed and went into deep space.  As Mace had pointed out on the planet, droids are stupid, and they were, to a fault.  The droids interpretid the attack of the two missiles with the same transponder signal as an attack.  They then turned on their own gunships as Nick informed Mace that they had gone hostile.  Two-hundred and twenty seven DSFs truned away from the Republic Ships, as they were no longer attacking, and turned toward their own friendly gunships.  Nick said Mace had planned this and Mace said there was mare and Mace said they needed to bail out.  Nick said not to tell him, so Mace said okay.  A Force Jump pushed Mace and Nick out of their gunship just before it was shot down.  As they fell toward the surface of the planet, Nick screamed and Mace mouthed that he asked not to know.  Nick complained as they fell about dying as a sidekick to a Jedi Master…..

Leave a Reply

