‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 19 (Part 6)

Wednesday and there was a lot I needed to get done today in order to be prepared for the next few days that were coming at me.  I got up this morning and was thoroughly exhausted and knew it was only going to get worse the rest of the week, but I’m convined that I’m exhausted because my body is still trying adjust to the diet I’m on to loose weight.  The good news is that even with the set backs from this past weekend, I’m already down thirty pounds in my weight.  The way I figure I have about seventy-five to go, but I’m well on my way to seriously loosing some weight.  I got up this morning and got myself and the kids going for the day today.  I didn’t have too much of a fight today except for the fact that Tara just didn’t want to brush her hair today.  We did finally get back on track and I was off to school.

I got to school and started to get things organized for my day today.  I realized I had a lot of work ahead of me to get the green screen ready for recording tomorrow in my classroom.  My students were pretty good about working today and I stayed in at lunch and worked hard at getting caught up on paperwork and getting grades done for workbook pages that they have completed.  It’s been a lot of work, but I’ve convinced myself that it’s all worth it to make sure my students are learning the information they’re supposed to.  I got done with my instructional part of the day and it was time to start working out how I was going to hang the extra green screening material from the screens I had, when it dawned on me that I could use “sticky clips”, my new best friend in the classroom.  So, I adjusted some things and put on sticky clips and started to put on my green screen, but soon realized that the screen material was too thin to be held up by sticky clips.  I tried to “shore” it up with some duct tape, but it wasn’t thick enough, so I switched to Gorilla Tape and that seemed to work.  I scrambled to finish up my room and got done just before the end of the day.  We then went upstairs and had a staff meeting.  I can’t say anything about what one of the things was that we were told, but I will say that it was GREAT news about how we did on the tests last year and we were rewarded by some pizza bought by our principal.  I, however, fought the urge of temptation and did NOT eat any of the pizza as it was not part of my diet.  We then went into our staff meeting and I have to say that I was nervous because we had to introduce an MYP Unit plan that we’ve been working on, but I thought the presentation went well.  I got “hired” to help with the powerpoint presentation because of the computer geek I’ve become, so I helped out in any way that I could.

I got done with my staff meeting and came home and got right to work when I came home with copying some DVD’s I’ve been meaning to copy and then got to work on grades for my classes.  Heather and the kids asked me to come upstairs for dinner and after dinner I went back downstairs and worked on getting grades done for my students.  As I was finishing that up, I started to review the projects from my eighth graders and download videos, pictures, and music for the video projects.  I was enraged when I realized that my second period students had all decided to push the envelope and pic songs that were inappropriate for the project guidlines.  So, I hated to do it, but I had to ban the entire class from the project.  I worked till late in the evening while I watched “Knight Rider” on T.V. and then watched the Presidential Debate.  Let me just say, I’m sick of Barrack Obama!  I’m tired of hearing his same old rhetoric, and I’m sick and tired of hearing the word FUNDAMENTAL!!!!  If I hear him say fundamental one more time, I’ll be ready to reach through the T.V. and strangle the man.  I went to bed after I got done downloading the materials for my students’ class.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 6 of Chapter 19 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…….

Chapter 19 (Part 6):  The regimental commander (CRC-09/571) was in his third fight, but his first one as regimental commander.  On the weeks before, he drilled his men constantly onboard the “Halleck” while tehy awaited orders.  Now, he watched a third of his regiment die in droid starfighter attacks.  Some of the leaders were merely disabled, so troopers were able to escape using repulsorpacks down to the planet’s surface.  But most of those men were also being shot to bits in mid-air as the droid starfighters attacked them with robotic accuracy as well.  The troopers learned to be ingenuitive, though.  Many learned how to penetrate armor with a comination of light repeaters, blaster rifles, and fused proton grenades.  Some even found their own bodies made formidable weapons against racing ships.  Every man fought for the regiment knowing that one starfighter taken down meant one more clone that was left alive.  CRC-09/571 was proud of his troops, but seeing their valor game him the drive to do something.  Hit back in some way. As he contemplate this, his comm rang with orders from General Windu to cease fire.  Cease fire among the one-hundred and ninety-two plus droid starfighters, and sixty nine gunships……

Leave a Reply

