‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 19 (Part 5)

Tuesday and it was back to the grind.  It so felt like a Monday today, I can’t even begin to explain.  I got up this morning and scrambled around a little bit as I tried to get everything into the car that I was going to need to put up the second (and hopefully final) green screen in my classroom today.  I put the screen in the back seat of the car and had all the tools, along with my dremmel, put into the trunk.  I took a shower and got the kids ready for the day and the kids were off to school and I was off to work, going a little late.  I got to school and set things up with a new vigor considering our superintendent’s workshop day on Friday.  But, no fears, it only took first period with my eighth grade students to take that vigor out of me.  Especially when it took them ten minutes to add one-fourth to one-half.  Sad, very sad and almost depressing as a teacher.  It pretty much took all the energy and vigor that I had from Friday right out of me.  I got through my day today, but it was a pretty rough day.  I managed to ge the kids “woken” up and get them thinking for a day.  It’s almost as if giving them a day off put them in a permanent head fog.  I got through my school day and breathed a sigh of relief and then started to put things together to hang the green screen for filming this Thursday and Friday.  It wasn’t easy as I had to hang the second screen on my own, so I had to hang one end, let the other dangle, hang the other chain, and then move back to the other side and adjust the height and repeat.  It was quite the task, but I did finally manage to get it done before the end of the day and was happy with what I was able to produce.  There’s a lot more work to be done, but I’m almost done.  The bad news was that some of the paint came off of the first screen I put together, so I may have to repaint it at some point in time.  Crap!  All well, such is life.  I got done with my school day and had a student for SMASH in my room after school and he helped me clean some things up and we talked about life and school and I drove the student over to SMASH rehearsal.  We had a nice SMASH rehearsal tonight and I think that Jim and I are learning that we need to give the students ownership over the group a little.  I managed to get some information from the students as well to put together a roster sheet.  I did it in the past, but have been getting lazy with this concept, so I decided that I needed to get organized even with SMASH.  I got done with SMASH rehearsal and came home.  After that I went downstairs and worked on some things, including grading papers and getting things ready for tomorrow for school.  This week is just going to be insanity!  The only night I don’t have anything going on is tomorrow night and even then, my night gets interupted by football rehearsals and Heather has Girl Scouts with the girls.  While I finished up all this work that I got caught up on, I realized that I needed to get in touch with some members from the Mandalorian Mercs and I didn’t know who to get ahold of.  I’ll have to email our leader about it tomorrow.  It’s a shame as tonight was the only night I had free to get this done.  Also while i worked on all of this, I watched our usual Tuesday night shows (“Fringe” and “Law and Order:  S.V.U.”) and then went to bed.

Okay, let’s talk about Part 5 of Chapter 19 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover”…..

Chapter 19 (Part 5):  Mace told Nick to take care of the missiles.  As Nick moved his turrets to face to the rear, Mace noted the strobes on the repulsor packs of Chalk and Kar below.  He noted as Chalk and Kar landed on a gunshup that was below.  Moments later, Mace noted the same ship coming for him, so he dove for an intercept course and asked for missiles.  Then Nick asked if they should fire at the ship coming at thme, and Mace said no, as the enemy thinks it’s one of theirs.  Just as they were to get attacked by another ship, the opposing gunship flashed it’s vents into the cockpit anc blew up the cockpit of the ship and it went tumbling down the moutainside.  Mace commented that that was shooting.  Nick said if you give Chalk a regular gun, it’s pathetic.  Mace instructed Nick to get Depa on a comms channel, they need to talk strategy.  Nick said he was glad they had strategy.  Mace asked how many ships left and Nick said there were two hundred twenty-eight droid starfighters.  Mace said this was good and instructed Nick to designate each of the droid starfighters as a target for their missiles.  And he told Nick to wait for his orders and to not target anything else.  Nick noted the sixty-seven gunships that were taking notice of them and Mace asked how many were set to intercept.  Nick said all of them and Mace said that was perfect!…..

Leave a Reply

