‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 19 (Part 2)

Saturday.  It started out okay and ended off very cold.  I got up this morning and the kids and I set to town to clean up the house as much as we could before grammy and papa came up for the weekend.  I swear, my mother has radar as to when I’ve let cleaning up the house go for a while, because that’s the weekend they decide to come down and visit.  Then again, if they never came down and visited, we may never properly clean the house.  I guess that’s quite the catch-22.  My parents got here around nine o’clock or so and we visited for a while and I went downstairs and worked on the shadow box for my book for a little while.  We then had a nice big lunch because I was going to have to leave early for the rehearsal for SMASH before the Vestal Circle of Bands show tonight.  We had a nice rice and sausage casserole and had a great time eating together and socializing with my parents.  After lunch, I worked on Austin’s rocket launcher a little bit and then got ready to go for SMASH.  I got to the field a little later than I wanted to, but it was okay because some of the students were actually later than me.  We practiced for about an hour or so and then Jim took us down the hill to get some dinner at Burger King, which he bought for everyone, which I thought was a really nice gesture.  While we were there, I got a phone call from Heather ripping me a new one because they had showed up to the field and my parents had to pay for her and the kids to get into the field.  That wasn’t the plan, I was supposed to be at the field and let them in the gate, but Jim sprung the surprise of dinner on us last minute.  So, I told her we would take care of it later.  The SMASH performance went pretty well, especially considering it was outside and the temperature dropped as fast as it did.  We got cold as we performed and to make matters worse, when I picked up my trumpet to play the first three notes of “Birdland” up the octave, well, they didn’t come out, at all!  It was a bad night for that part of performing because my instrument was simply that cold.  We got through the performance and I watched two bands go on the field, including Vestal and gave the Vestal staff some pointers and then came home.  We watched “The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown” with the kids and then everyone went to bed.  Tomorrow was going to be a long day for everyone.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 2 of Chapter 19 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover……

Chapter 19 (Part 2):  Mace said he claimed to be such a hot gunner, now was the time to prove it.  Nick took the controls of the quad laser canon and blasted down one of the missiles.  Mace complimented him, but warned not to fire their tail off.  Then Nick fired four of thier own concussion missiles to stop the other five, but Mace demanded he save the rest of the missiles.  Mace then asked Depa if she was ready and she said she was as ready as ever and offered Mace’s lightsaber back to him.  As Mace cut the power to the engines, he told her to keep it, as she would need it.  As the gunship continued to climb slowly, the other gunships went shooting pas as their’s met it’s apex and started to fall.  Mace controlled the drop and asked Depa to choose right or left and she chose left, as she dove through the hole in the transparisteel window and went whizzing through the air.  Nick asked why he never gets warned about things like this.  Mace ignored his question and told Nick ot lock cannons on the right ship and be prepared to use continuous fire without missiles.  Nick said he was on it, as Mace turned the ship right in it’s decent and angled the ship right at the gunship to give both sides the chance to fire as Mace kicked on the repulsorlifts and after burners and told them all to hang on.  As they dropped, Mace caught a look at Depa who was now driving straight down with both lightsabers over her head…..

Leave a Reply

