‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 18 (Part 10)

Wednesday.  Middle of the week and you would think with a short week that this would be a good day.  I started off with good intentions, and found that the day today had too many expectations flooded into it.  I got up this morning and got myself going for the day and the kids did a pretty good job themselves getting ready for their day today.  We all got out the door on time and the kids were off to school and I was off to work.  I really didnt’ think about it, but I had all sorts of things packed into the day today.  My students were all taking their tests on keyboard and recorder today.  The recorder tests went pretty well.  I was happy with them and was happy with the way they turned out in all reality.  But the keyboard tests were all over the map!  I had some students who practiced hard and did fine!  I had other students that played a song that sounded NOTHING like what I had taught them at all!  I got to lunch time and had a great meeting with our principle about a new process we’re using in school called P.L.G.’s, called Professional Learning Groups.  They have been a very effective tool and will continue to be an effective tool.  But, I found out today that there is a whole bunch of information that I didn’t even get this summer.  I hope that at some point in time I will be able to go to training for this process.  We got done with the meeting and during my planning period today, we ran a much more successful, and much more productive P.L.G.  It was a great meeting and it was very effective.  I got to the end of the school day and I was exhausted.  I came home with high hopes that the part for my T.V. had come in and I could fix it tonight.  Well, Heather let me know early on in the evening that the part had not come in.  So, they will be taking my T.V. tomorrow and giving me a loaner and will be sending the T.V. out for repairs.  Damn!  That’s what I was trying to avoid!  Anyway, I was not happy and then my evening went even worse.  Due to a HUGE miscommunicantion about football tonight, Heather headed off to Girl Scouts (which she didn’t tell me about,a nd I forgot it was going to be starting tonight) and no one went and picked up Austin.  His coach dropped him off to the house and I felt like an idiot!  Not to mention, I was working on a project on my computer and was getting frustrated because it wasn’t work the way I was hoping it would.  Needless to say, the rest of the evening was spent “discussing” (arguing) about the lack of communication about my wife and myself.  We also had a discussion about her job and her frustration with it, so I suggested she get a new job.  She agreed and tomorrow and tomorrow night, she is going job hunting.  I just hope she can find something, because the Wendy’s job is just NOT working out and the stress is getting higher there and her stress at home is almost at an exploding level.  I can’t take it anymore and I’m not there!  They don’t respect her and they don’t appreciate her.  So, I told her it’s time to find a place that does respect her.  Not much T.V. watching happened tonight and we headed off to bed in doubt and in anger with each other.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 10 of Chapter 18 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover……

Chapter 18 (Part 10):  Depa jumped out and drew attention to herself to try and draw fire away from the others.  Nick ran past her and into the ship firing with his assault rifle.  Kar jumped under the ankkox and picked up Chalk and as he ran with her, he became the new target for the guys in the sky.  Mace said he had enough and used The Force to kick on the ball turret cannons on the gunship he was on.  He shot into the forest which turned the trees into wood dust, creating a smoke screen for them to move under.  Kar bounded for the ship with Chalk in his hands and Depa was not far behind.  Nick showed up in the cockpit and told Mace they were in.  Mace asked about the gunners and Nick said they were still out.  Mace told them to hang on as he launched the gunship straight into the sky as the other two gunships moved into a pincer maneuver as they pounded the armor on the side of the ship.  As he heard screaming, Nick instructed Mace to shut the door.  Mace looked over his shoulder ans saw Depa deflecting bolts left and right as Kar had Chalk in the corner, protecting her from the stray bolts with his shields.  Mace shouted to Depa and his lightsaber lept from his vest and into her hands as Mace felt, through The Force, Depa slipping completely into Vaapad.  She nodded to Mace and the troop door on the other side was opened.  As both sides had particle beams entering, Depa used both lightsabers to deflect shots.  Depa deflected one blast toward one of the gunships exhaust engines, and the engine shattered down the moutnainside as the ship spun out of control.  Then she deflected the other shots through the cockpit of the other ship and that ship fell into the woods with shredded flesh all over the cockpit.  As Depa came out of her trance, she opened her eyes and they were smoked with darkness.

Leave a Reply

