‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 18 (Part 4)

Well, Tuesday and it was the second day of the week and I had high hopes going into my day today.  I had a lot to get accomplished and I have to say that I hope it all goes according to plan.  I can only hope, right?  I got up this morning and got myself going for the day.  It wasn’t a bad start to the day.  Tara managed to actually get herself motivated and moving this morning which I was very pleased with.  We got out the door on time and the kids were off to school while I was off to work.  I got to school and got things together for the day and was glad to find out that we would be having a meeting today about what I will be presenting to the staff for our MYP meeting on the 9th of Ocober.  In the back of my mind, that date is looming in my head and I’m concerned about making sure that I’m prepared for the event.  It was good to know the District MYP coordinator was going to meet with me and the art teacher that are presenting and informing us of what is expected of us for the day.  I got on with my day and I have to say that the students were much better about getting their two-week reports in to me today.  Although there were a few that still forgot, I decided to give them a last chance tomorrow.  My classes seemed to go okay as well.  They worked hard and were getting quite a bit of work done.  It was odd.  Almost as if the sun and moon aligned and suddenly all my students decided to do all their work without question at once.  I was wondering if this year was going to be different than years in the past.  We had our meeting about the 9th today and things seemed to go well.  I had a pretty good idea of what I needed to do for the meeting, now I just gotta put it all into a powerpoint presentation so that I can be prepared for that day.  Once the school day was done, I had to wait around for SMASH rehearsal, so I sat around and did some grading of papers and updating of my gradebook and one of the janitors talked to me about the financial crisis in this country. 

You see, one of the janitors at my school is a conservative like I am and he listens to Sean Hannity, Rush Limbaugh, and Michael Savage like I do.  Quite honestly, this economic bail out plan sounds like a bunch of crap to me!  Why should I be on the hook because a bunch of guys on Wall Street took a risk on giving loans to Americans who couldn’t afford them?  Why were they giving loans to these people in the first place?  Oh, wait!  It was because Former President Bill Clinton urged them to and almost forced them to.  Now look where we are!  This plan is going to cost each of us over $3000 a piece to fix!  Why am I on the hook for this?  I told the janitor at my school, there is a quick fix to all of this.  Stay out of it!  Let capitalism do it’s job.  Keep the government out!  More importantly, why are we giving money to FAILED companies?!!!  That’s the worst economic plan I’ve ever seen in my life!  Folks, we’re having money stolen out right from underneath us and there’s nothing we can do about it!  Man, corruption is fatal!  I hope to God they never vote to give Wall Street this money!  Okay, I’ll get off my soapbox now.

I got done talking and grading papers and then headed over to SMASH rehearsal.  We played through my arranged version of “The Star Spangled Banner” and it went great and sounded great as well!  We then went through rehearsal and talked about our gameplan for the Vestal show on the 12th of October.  I got done with SMASH and called Heather on the way home and she made dinner mobile for me so I could get downstairs and record for my podcast.  I got home and recorded the last few segments of my podcast and started working on the rest of the editing.  I worked the entire night on my podcast and was editing and publishing till the wee ours in the morning.  As a matter of fact, I did not get to bed until 1 in the morning getting my podcast online.  All well, such is the life of a podcaster!

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 4 of Chapter 18 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, a Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 18 (Part 4):  Although their grassers were normally docile, the typical grasser weighed over one and a half metric tons and their first gripping limbs were strong enough to rip the armor off a steamcrawler.  These grassers had been confined in a small space for several days and were scared by the bombardment, but had now turned to a blind panic of a stampede.  The militia members learned very quickly that a blaster had limited use against a mad stampeding grasser.  They also quickly learned that a grasser’s limbs can rip a man’s legs off and their jaws can tear through armor.  The regulars learned to use their rocket-propelled frag grenades that would penetrate the grassers skin and explode from the inside out.  They also learned that the five GAVs were effective to use.  That is, until they discovered teh dozens of akk dogs following the stampede…..

Leave a Reply

