‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 18 (Part 2)

Sunday and it was a busy Sunday.  But at least I knew this was going to happen for a while now.  It was going to be a busy day simply because of the zoo event for my FanForce group and the football game that my son had going on.  Austin had to be at the football field by ten o’clock this morning and I had to be at the zoo at eleven, so Heather and I had decided that church was out only because of the timing of both events.  I helped Heather get Austin and the girls ready for cheerleading and football and I got ready for my event.  Once they all left, I loaded up my car and got on the road and was over at the zoo by eleven o’clock.  It was a crappy day outside because it was raining like cats and dogs.  Luckily, James, one of our members with an EZ up tent showed up with a tent for us to put tables under.  We set up our tables just inside the zoo and then went and got changed.  We had a snowtrooper join us from PA and he seemed like a very nice guy.  We had a great time, even though it was in the rain a little and I have to say that most people there, were there to see us and not for too many other reasons.  We did manage to raise about $40 on the jail and bail, which considering the state of the weather outside, wasn’t bad at all.  We also had a few more people get in on the raffle of our “Star Wars:  Vault” book for the Lung Cancer Awareness Association, and raffled the book off today as well.  About half way through our event, Heather decided to come over and showed up with Austin and the girls.  Austin didn’t bring his costume and was bummed because I just installed into his costume yesterday a voice amp for his helmet and he wanted to test it out today.  That’s okay, I needed him to just be a handler for today anyway.  Heather left after about an hour, but left Austin behind to help me out.  We got packed up and were out of there by about four o’clock.  I got home and Heather got to cooking dinner right away, because she knew I was starving.  As I ate dinner I watched the Rams on T.V.  I was excited at first because they were actually winning.  However, not long after I started watching, the Rams imploded, and eventually lost to the Buffalo Bills.  After the game, I managed to watch my usual Sunday night T.V. shows while I taped Fox (“The Simpsons”, “Family Guy”, and “American Dad”).  I also discovered this evening that we were on the news and you can find our interview here:  http://www.wicz.com/fox40/video.asp?video=09%2D28%2D08+zoo%2Ewmv.  After watching T.V., it was time for bed.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 2 of Chapter 18 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 18 (Part 2):  Each trooper carried a Merr-Sonn BC-7 medium blaster with rocket-grenade attachment, six frag grenades, vibroknife, a Merr-Sonn Devastator, and personal combat armor.  Every sixth soldier was also equipped with an MMX grenade launcher and a backpack flame projector.  Five-thousand regulars, thirty five GAV’s (Ground Assault Vehicles – converted steamcrawlers), and seventy-three Seinar Turbostorm close-assault gunships.  All of this was now heading toward the Lorshan Pass.  To fight them off, the Korun had four hundred actives, two-thirds who were now wounded, two-thousand non-combatants (elderly and children).  They were armed with slug rifles, grenades, two shoulder-fired proton torpedo launchers, and one EWHB-10 heavy repeating blaster.  They were great at guerilla warfare, but unsuccessful in conventional tactics.  The militia expected to beat the Korunnai, and even destroy their will to fight…..

Leave a Reply

