‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 17 (Part 2)

Tuesday and a lot of things needed to get accomplished today.  I got up this morning knowing full well that I was going to have a long and busy day and night tonight.  I got up with a little more vigor this morning and the kids seemed like they were ready for the day as well.  We got up and got ourselves moving.  I got into the shower and the kids got themselves ready for school.  I waited for the babysitter to show up and I was off to work and the kids were off to school.  I got to school and got things ready for my day.  Today I had the goal of having successful classes with students that were going to work and take notes.  Luckily, my students worked with me and everything seemed to go okay.  I managed to call Jim today since I was going to miss SMASH tonight and got a low down on what he had planned for the rehearsal.  I also learned from Jim that I’m going to have to go through and remake the “Corky Fabrizio” arrangement of the Star Spangled Banner for the group for next week.  This will add to the million other things I need to do over the next week.  After school, I stayed after for a little bit and got some work done and then headed over to Columbus for our first MYP workshop for the year.  I was planning a unit with the art, ELA, and music teachers that we plan on doing throughout this year.  I fought the temptation to eat the pizza they provided for the workshop and went home and had some wheat pasta and spaghetti sauce for dinner.  Once I finished eating, I went downstairs and started setting up for Ian and I to record the latest episode of “The Jedi Council Speaks” tonight.  I waited for a little bit and Ian showed up not only to record, but also dropped by a gift for Austin.  A rocket launcher for his Mando costume.  I’ll have to repaint it, but it will look awesome!  We recorded for about two hours or so and by the time we were done, it was time for me to go to bed.  It was a long day, but I got a lot accomplished.

Okay, it’s time to talk about Part 2 of Chapter 17 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 17 (Part 2):  Besh was laying on the ledge and Vastor was knelt beside him with his hand above Besh’s heart.  The wound that was produced by Terrel’s knife was now beginning to show signs of infection, and was being attacked by the fungus that was indigenous to this planet.  Chalk sat on the other side of Besh’s body and she sponged the growths on his chest with a damp rag.  Mace could help but smell the alcohol and port aak amber.  Nick stopped a few meters short and shot Mace a look.  Mace approached slowly and asked Chalk how Besh was doing.  She told him he was dying and asked Mace how he was doing.  Mace asked Chalk if she would come with him, but Chalk said Besh needs her.  Mace couldn’t answer her and Nick came over and said the archives are looking pretty good as of right now and that was the only hope of immortality any of them had.  Mace asked how immortality will be achieved if his journal is forever burried under a mountain on Haruun Kal.  Mace told Nick to forget immortality and to concentrate on living today.  Mace could feel the power that Vastor was using and could tell he was finding each fungi and burning them out, one by one.  Another shockwave rocked the cavern and Mace told Kar this was not the way and they don’t have time.  Vastor answered asking if there was something better for him to be doing.  Mace said there is, Kar asked if it involved killing Balawai, Mace said yes, but only about a thousand or so.  Vastor opened his eyes, and Mace asked if they were on…..

Leave a Reply

