‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 16 (Part 8)

Sunday, and it was one of the busiest days of the week for me.  Right, the Lord’s day of rest.  Heh!  I got up around seven-thirty this morning and helped Heather get the kids ready for church.  The girls had to have their hair brushed and Austin needed some help with his tie.  They left the house and I got to loading my care with all the things I’d need for the Cancer Walk today.  Not too long after they left, I left to go to Rec Park for the Cancer Walk.  I got there at just about eleven o’clock and talked to the supervisors and we talked logisitcs and what they expected of us.  It sounded like it was going to be a bunch of fun.  We had three new members show up to help out today and one of them brought along an “EZ-Up” tent which made our lives SO much easier.  It got to be around noon and I tried to call Jeff to see where he was because we didn’t have a tent to change into and we found out from his wife that he had just left.  Jeff got there about quarter after and we put up our tent along with all the tarps to cover it up so we could debucket if we needed to.  We then got into costume and Danny got excited because it was the first time he was going to be in his Mando in public.  Honestly, his costume looks pretty sweet.  We had a great time at the event.  We walked around and took a lot of pictures and I had fun freaking out the football team when I started talking to students and they had no idea who I was.  Sometimes that’s just so much fun!  We then walked down to the beginning of the run/walk and started the walk with everyone and then when we got to the park, we ducked out.  We weren’t about to do all 5K in costume!  Too much to expect.  We debucketed a little bit and then hung around for a while to try and raffle off a “Star Wars Vault” book.  We didn’t get too many takers on that, so we decided to bring it with us next weekend to the zoo and try to make more money for the Lung Cancer Society.  We also got a plaque for participating in the event, which was cool and they gave us all subs from “Subway” for lunch and partipating.  We left the event as soon as it ended at three-o’clock and I was chugging along after that.  I decided to head home and unload my car and then head on over to Austin’s football game.  Now, I’ll admit that I ate the sub in a hurry at home, but was still hungry because I didn’t eat anything else all day.  And neither did Heather.  So, when we got to the football game, we both succumbed to temptation, and she had two hot dogs (without buns) and I had a nahos and cheese.  I’m sure I’ll pay for that later.  We got done with the football game and went right home.  I got home and was exhausted and so was Heather.  She was so exhausted, she said she did not want to make dinner, so we succumbed to temptation again and ordered Chinese for dinner.  But, this time around I only ate half of what I would normally eat of a helping of Chinese food.  So, as you can see, this was a BAD dieting day!  The kids ate some leftovers and went to bed and I spent some time organizing the basement and the shop for the week.  I have some big ideas about what I want to do this week, but we’ll have to see if it all works out.  We watched some T.V. this evening and went to bed at our usual time.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 8 of Chapter 16 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover….,.

Chapter 16 (Part 8):  Mace repeated the word stupid and then told Nick he was brilliant!  Mace explained taht the Jedi Order contemplated using droid starfighters to counter pirating on the outer rim territories, but decided against it because droids are stupid.  Mace got back onto the comms and ordered the Commander of the “Halleck” to get the rest of the troops loaded onto the landers and launch them immediately.  The Commander tried to talk him out of it, but Mace continued to instruct him.  He told the Commander to jump for hyperspace once the landers are clear.  Then Mace removed the powercell from the comm unit and put it back into his lightsaber.  Mace asked Nick who was the best shooter he knew, and Nick said himself.  So Mace asked who teh second best was and Nick said Chalk, if she would walk.  Mace said come on and Nick asked where they could go at this point.  Mace said he was tired of being called insane and Nick insisted upon knowing the plan.  Mace said they were going to attack and hit them hard!

Leave a Reply

