‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 16 (Part 5)

Thursday.  Last night was such a late night that I almost didn’t want to get out of bed when the alarm rang.  I got up ten minutes late and got the kids going for the day.  Everyone was dragging a little bit.  We got ourselves going for the day, but it was definetly a slow starting day.  We got out the door and the kids were at the bus stop and I was on my way to work.  My school day did not go bad at all.  My eighth grade classes complained about having to learn the history of Jazz, but when I told them we could go back and learn about Opera music, they decided the decision was a wonderful idea!  My sixth and seventh graders got their work done and seemed to be into what we were learning about.  I got done with my school day and was buried with papers to grade.  So, I stayed after school and graded papers until it was time for our emergency meeting for the FanForce group at seven o’clock.  I got to the meeting and some people were upset because they wanted to make a last minute meeting change, but I honestly just didn’t have the time to take care of it.  I told them I would promise to try and take that into account for future meetings.  We talked about a lot and resolved a lot within the group.  I think everyone walked away feeling much better about where we were headed.  I also apologized to the group and admitted that there was my personal stress that added to the situation as well as the fact that my diet has me off-kilter emotionally, so it all came into play when I was writing those emails.  We walked away in a pretty good mood.  After the meeting Jeff showed me his new lightsaber and then Danny and I went to my house and played “The Force Unleashed” until about eleven o’clock or so.  I then took Danny to his house and brought his sintra over to him.  He gave me a new dremmel, some minis, and a really cool Star Wars sign from Target that I plan on putting in the basement.  It was a long day, but I feel so much better now knowing that this group is starting to work things out.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 5 of Chapter 16 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 16 (Part 5):  The comm center was just a small cave, with nothing of note inside.  Nick said the relay antennas were gone, but Mace sadi they didn’t need to worry about concealing their positions.  Besides, subspace doesn’t need to worry about rock.  Nick went running through the door yelling about the surgical field being down.  That’s when Mace looked down and saw the subspace comm unit broken to bits.  Nick was cursing as he lookied at the comm tech operators on the floor , as if he was mad at them.  Mace told him to get out of the room as Nick noted their skulls were squishy like foam.  Mace said they have to leave now, as Nick asked how this could happen to someone.  Mace explaiend that it’s a reaction to concussion, and this structure must reach all the way to the surface.  Then Mace told Nick to cover his ears adn Jump!  As a DOKAW sent another shockwave into the room, Mace used The Force to suspend them in the air and the shockwave whisked past them down the corridor.  That’s when they both realized that the blast had affected their hearing.  Mace used The Force and floated the subspace unit into his hands……

Leave a Reply

