‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 16 (Part 4)

Well, it’s Wednesday and the middle of the week.  I have a lot to get done today and I woke up out of bed ready to run.  I got up and got the kids going and it was a “hustle and bustle” morning.  So much so that there was an incident after I left the house.  Austin left the bust stop because Ruth asked him to go get a hairbrush and an umbrella for her while she stayed at the bus stop.  The bus came and they waited a while and then the bus driver said they had to leave without him.  So, he called Heather and she had to take him to school.  They knew they were going to get a tongue lashing from me when they got home, because Heather wasn’t going to be at home as she was heading to her sister’s for a hair appointment.  While I was at school, things seemed to go okay.  School went well and work was good.  I got done with my school day and was able to leave right away, only because I had to be back there by seven o’clock.  I got home and had a discussion about what had happened with the two kids this morning.  I told them that from this point on there is to be no reason for them to leave the bus stop once they get there.  Ruth, being the wise-ass that she can be asked what they should do if the river floods and they need to move, and I came up with the most original answer I think I ever have as a parent.  I told her to tread water until the bus arrived or they got swept away, whatever happened first!  I got done with them and headed downstairs and got done with finishing the video project for my classrooms.  Heather came home and showed me her hair.  It wasn’t bad looking, but I really liked it when her hair was permed.  But, she did bring me a nice surprise.  She picked up my copy of “The Force Unleashed” for the PS3 and of course, it went into the system right away!  I played the level with Darth Vader and it was freakin awesome!!  You’re practically invincible in the game.  It’s aweseome!!!  I literally had to rip myself away to go upstairs and eat dinner and then leave for the parent/teacher night.  Curriculum night went okay.  I got the usual of one to two parents per class and was able to leave early since I have eighth and nineth period off.  I got home and watched some T.V. with Heather, including “Dog, The Bounty Hunter” and then went to bed.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 4 of Chapter 16 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover……

Chapter 16 (Part 4):  DOKAWS blasted the mountain.  Many Korunnai went running, screaming, and some tried to help the wounded while others just died.  Mace kept moving as shockwaves continued to hit.  Sometimes Mace had to light the way for himself and Nick with his lightsaber.  Nick asked him why he needed him.  Nick pointed out that he’s good with a medpac and he could help the wounded.  But as they rounded the corner, the hallway was blocked with fallen stone.  Mace pointed forward and said that’s why.  He said this was the only way he knew to get to the comm center.  Nick said they needed to get the trapped people otu from under the rubble, but Mace pointed out that they’d be no safer out here.  Then Mace said they can dig them out later, but they needed to have survivors do the digging.  Nick agreed and they left…..

Leave a Reply

