‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 16 (Part 1)

Well, it was Sunday and it was a very busy day today.  I had high expectations going into the day and I felt very depressed by the end of the day.  I got up around eight o’clock this morning and got myself ready for church and helped Heather get the kids ready for church as well.  We all had a nice breakfast and got into our Sunday best and were on our way.  We got to church and got bombarded with some questions and a “we missed you” attitude which made us feel a little more welcome.  It’s odd, Heather and I feel a part of this church, but we don’t feel a part of this church.  I just don’t think there’s anyone we know, but the kids seem happy at the church, which is most important for us.  We got done and went downstairs for social hour and then we went and found the rooms for the kids’ Sunday School rooms and Ruth headed to communicants class.  Heather and I left because we both had a lot of work to do and didn’t have time to hang around and do an adult class.  So, we got home and I got organized for my FanForce meeting and Heather go organized for cheerleading.  We helped each other out when we could.  Heather took off to go get the kids from Sunday School and get them ready for football, and I got a late start to get off to my FanForce meeting.  I had high expectations going to this meeting, but knew that some members weren’t going to be there.  I got a call from Allen and Danielle earlier today to let me know that they would not be at the meeting.  Well, I got to the meeting and no one was there that was already part of the group.  I had three new members show up, one of which was a “husband and wife” team, which I was pretty excited about.  They were excited too and they couldn’t wait to figure out ways they could help out.  We got through the meeting and I will admit I was a little flustered only because no one else from the group showed up.  Quite honestly, I was pretty ticked off about that.  I got out of the meeting and my day was flying high.  I called Heather and let her know I was on my way home and she let me know that her sister and boyfriend had arrived for the football game today.  I managed to get ahold of one member on my way home and found out that he had to work today.  Not much I can do about that, gotta work in order to have money to be a part of the group.  I drove home and started another video conversion, but had to pause it to get to the kids’ football game in reasonable time.  Then Heather called me while I was in the car and said she dropped Austin to the game and that we had two hours to kill, so she was heading over to Wal Mart.  Well, I found out that her sister’s boyfriend was picking up the “Vulcan” Nerf gun to blast my son when he got home after the football game.  They continued on their way and I headed over to the “Spirit Store” to see what they had.  Some cool stuff, but nothing I was willing to jump at.  I guess simply put, I’ve become such a picky costumer that I would never use those type of costumes again.  I left there and met Heather over at the field.  I had another hour to kill while the cheerleaders practiced, so I went over to Toys R Us and bought the Ahsoka costume for Ruth.  We then went to the football game for Austin and watched his team get slaughtered yet again!  Man, I feel like I’m watching the L.A. Rams from the 80s.  It’s like the team never even showed up!  The coaches yelled at the kids and we went home.  I stopped, with Austin, to get gas.  We got home and Heather’s sister’s boyfriend started a Nerf war that went right up until dinner.  After dinner Heather asked me to try and finish up with the video project and I tried to do the best I could.  I was still upset about the meeting today and my mind was brewing about it throughout the day.  I even called Charles and told him how I felt, I think he understood, but had his own issues to deal with.  I went to bed thinking about it all night long and was upset that the others in the group hadn’t even gotten in contact with me.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 1 of Chapter 16 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

PART 3:  Shatterpoint

Chapter 16 (Part 1):  Shockwaves – A Deorbiting Kinetic Anti-emplacement Weapon or DOKAW has a durasteel spear with ablative shielding and a mini-ion drive and can weigh up to two-hundred kilograms.  But the final warhead was in the neighborhood of one hundred kilograms.  The DOKAW was primitive and simple to use, which is why it’s found on such primitive back worlds.  It has it’s weaknesses, like the ability for a turbolaser to shoot it down.  But that was not going to happen on Haruun Kal.  It’s not very accurate, but then again, when it’s moving at over ten kilometers per second, accuracy is a minor problem.  One word can explain a DOKAW, Wham!….

Leave a Reply

