‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 15 (Part 5)

Well, it’s Thursday and I can’t believe that my first full week of school.  I’m amazed at how quick this week has moved along!  I got up this morning and got ready for school.  It wasn’t a bad morning, but I was starving by the time it was time for breakfast.  My stomach was even growling while I was in the shower this morning.  I think it’s simply because I have cut out snacking at night.  But, I got out of the shower and got dressed and had some eggs and I seemed to feel better.  I got myself going for the day and tried to take off for school a little early.  I was worried because I had a video I wanted to play in class and I was worried that it wouldn’t play on the new Smart Boards.  Well, when I got to school, I found out my fears were worth getting worried about.  The DVD wouldn’t play.  I then found out it’s because the “Region” on the DVD Drive in the computer wasn’t set yet.  So, I went online and went to the G4 Website and researched how to do it, and sure enough, once I did what they showed me how to do, I was able to play a DVD.  Whew!!!  That saved me from a disaster today.  I had a good morning with my students and went and ate with the art teachers for lunch.  It was also a good afternoon, but my seventh period class is starting to show it’s true colors.  They’re starting to goof around a lot and are often not listening to me.  As I always say, the honeymoon is over and school is back on the way I’m used to it.

I got done with my day and came home and crashed.  Heather went out and got me a “Dazzle”, which is a way to convert videos from analog to digital video.  I tried to hook the entire unit up to my laptop, but found out that it wasn’t going to work as my laptop did not have enough space on the hard drive and didn’t have enough RAM to run the program.  Crap!  So, I removed the program and was going to tell Heather to take it back.  But, I remembered that we had the desktop upstairs, so I thought I would put the program and the device on the upstairs computer.  Well, that turned into a DISASTER!!!  The program wasn’t compatible with Windows Vista.  Imagine that!  Let me tell you, Vista sucks and it made the installation of this product nearly impossible.  I spent most of my night working on this.  In the process of the evening, I was also setting Austin up.  We were supposed to give Austin his dogtags to officially make him a Falco.  So, I was going to bring over Jeff, Ian, Allen, and Danielle and surprise him.  So, Heather took him to practice and went to pick him up and figured we’d surprise him when he gets home.  Well, Jeff let me know he couldn’t come, and Ian didn’t show, so I called him and found out he was sick.  So, Allen and Danielle showed up and we gave Austin his dogtags.  He was quite surprised and VERY excited.  He put his dogtags on and I don’t think he’ll ever take them off.  He was ecstatic and it was a good event anyway.  We surprised him, and that’s all I care about.  After that, Heather and I went downstairs and watched some T.V. and then went to bed.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 5 of Chapter 15 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 15 (Part 5):  Then Mace felt a tiny twinge in The Force, it was a signal.  The scene seemed frozen in time – Kar with his arms folded, Mace unarmed on the cliff, the gunships in the distance, and Nick with his blaster behind.  But in the jungle below, one lone sniper was taking aim at Mace Windu’s heart.  But Mace found the single shatterpoint.  Kar Vastor’s balance at the lip of the cliff.  Mace put his hand on the lor pelek’s shoulder and shoved him over the edge.  As he was pushed forward, Nick’s bullet grazed his head instead of blowing his brains out.  As Vastor fell, he lost grip on the two lightsabers and Mace grabbed them through The Force and brought them into his hands.  But, Vastor did not die.  He clung to the cliff surface below as Nick ran out asking if he got his target.  All Mace did, was stood there, looking into his blad, as Nick blasted away at Vastor who had landed safely on the meadow below…..

Leave a Reply

