‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 14 (Part 3)

It’s Thursday and it’s the first day of school with students.  I woke up with a positive attitude and told myself that this year I’m going to make sure that I run my classroom and that my classroom doesn’t run me.  I got up and got the kids going for the day.  I helped the girls with their hair and Heather did some things last night to try and make school special for them, including painting toe and finger nails.  They all looked cute for their first day of school, and by order of the wife, I took a picture of them ready for school.  Not too long after being ready to go, Tara’s babysitter showed up and I was on my way to school.

I got to school and ran into some minor problems like my Smart Board didn’t want to work at first.  But, I eventually got things rolling for first period.  We ran through our “hour delay” schedule to get students used to using their lockers, etc., but honestly, I’ve never needed an hour to get my students through that.  So, I ended up doing two lesson plans with my first period students and they’re already a day ahead.  This seems to happen EVERY year, and I am just starting to get used to it.  My day wasn’t bad at all.  Minor problems, but not too many of them.  My schedule has me teaching most of the morning, but having the last two periods of the day free.  At lunch, I went upstairs and met with some teachers and we worked on how to use the Smart Board and I showed them some things that I had already learned about the program myself.  I got some copies out at the end of the day and also managed to organize some things in my room that needed to get organized.  I also managed to play with the Smart Board a little more and get used to using this tool.  When school was over, I went home because I knew we had a busy night as well.

I got home and Heather and I talked a little.  She explained to me about some of her frustrations for the day and I told her about mine and we then watched some T.V. together and then got dinner ready.  She decided to take Austin to football since she had to go to coach the cheerleaders anyway, because I had to take the entire evening this evening scanning in workbook pages for use with the Smart Board program.   And that’s exactly how it went.  BUT, the kids got out late because of the chaos of the decision to cancel pictures on Saturday because of the rain that is going to be produced by hurricane Hannah.  So, Heather had to deal with the chaos of changing schedules because no one told her about this in advance, even though the coaches seemed to already magically know what was going on.  She was pretty frustrated.  I was pretty frustrated as well.  As this technology at school has made my life SO much harder.  I spent my entire evening this evening at my computer scanning in workbook pages to use.  It was a LOT of work and I can’t believe that I’m STILL not done with it!  It was a long day and Heather and I decided to go to bed early again tonight.  Luckily, only one more day to go and we can relax a little bit.

Okay, let’s talk about Part 3 of Chapter 14 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 14 (Part 3):  From The Private Journals of Mace Windu (Final Haruun Kal Entry) – Major Rostu and I won’t (Nick’s voice) “Is that on?  Can they hear me?” Yes, it’s – “Wow! So some Jedi years from now could hear me?!  Hi!” – Major- “Yeah, I know, shut up!” – Depa is to meet us here.  She had some sort of strategem to get Vastor and the akk guards far enough away to let us escape.  I did not aske her how as I was afraid what it was.  We sent a comm code wtih a Jedi priority signal in it to avoid detection and decryption by local forces.  We received word back taht the “Halleck” is on it’s way.  We arrived at this base about an hour before sunrise, but I’m not sure you can call this a base.  It’s more like a refugee camp with caves honeycombed all over the hillside with pallet beds and stone that was obviously cut and smooted by a vibro-axe.  Thousands of Korunnai cram the quarters of these caves wtih more coming every day.  There is no ventilation and very little sanitation control.  Disease is rampant in these caves.  The largest caves are given to the surviving grassers who are destined for the same fate as their masters.  The Korunnai attempt to take care of their grassers, they take them out to graze, but they are afraid to reveal the location of this base to the enemy…..

Leave a Reply

