‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 14 (Part 1)

Well, it was Tuesday and for me, the vacation was officially over.  I was back to work early this morning and it was time to get ready for the school year.  I got up and slowly got myself motivated to get moving for the day.  I ended up going to East at about seven-thirty this morning and worked on my room for a while this morning while they did some things at West that I attended last Spring.  I got quite a bit done there before I took off for the convocation at West.  I sat through another speech that explained that our school district is going to be “student driven”.  I swear that is the matra of every administrator that ever existed on the face of the earth!  Sometimes I wish they would listen to what they give us each year because there is a point where it begins to sound the same every time.  We got done with that and then had a Union meeting that was again, not so exciting.  We finished with this and were supposed to have department meetings, but since no one told the administration about them, they didn’t happen.  That was okay because that meant that I got to go over to the school early to work on my room.  In the interim, I ran into Jim and he explained to me how the Vestal Marching Band was doing and also told me that SMASH already has a gig in October.  Well, my schedule is going to fill up fast yet again!  I left Jim and headed over to East.

I worked on my room and talked to some friends at the same time.  I started to unload the storage closet, which wasn’t easy as I went through the “maze” that has now become our stage with all sorts of things being dumped on it!  I got some of this done and got asked to go out to lunch by some friends.  I told them I didn’t have cash on me, but as a set of good friends, they offered to pay.  I hate it when this happens becasue I feel like I owe someone something.  But, I told my friend I would pay her back tomorrow.  We came back and I went to a staff meeting where we sat through some important beginning of the year info and then we got some training on Smart Board.  Let me tell you, this tool we will be having in our classrooms is awesome!  If I can’t interact with my students and keep them involved with a Smart Board in my room then I don’t know why anyone went into the teaching profession.  I will say this, I’m VERY proud of the Binghamton City School District.  Not only have they taken a step into the twenty-first century, but they have actually put us ahead of the game.  Great job for those of you who put this Smart Board concept together, it’s awesome, and THANK YOU!  I got done with all of that and then went downstairs and did some massive work putting my room together.  I even had my Smart Board hooked up while I was there and got a chance to play around with it for a half hour before I left.  It was cool!  I got done with school and came home.

I got home and was excited because I had finally gotten my flightsuit from Costume Base.  But, the flight suit didn’t fit!  It was too tight.  I was upset and really angry.  I fit the measurements, but my big gut, butt, and thighs is making it too tight.  So, I decided I have received the motivation I need.  I’m going on a diet to get into my Tie Pilot jumpsuit!  It’s time and I need to just do it!  So, as of this point, I’m going to be watching what I eat and how much of it I eat.  AND, no more excueses, I’m going walking every day I come home from school.  It will be tough, but I’m going to do it because I should.  We grilled some hot dogs for dinner and talked about how we will change our eating habits at the dinner table and then we got Austin ready for football.  I then came home and played some PS3 before going back and picking him up.  I was very upset with my son tonight.  I will not explain why, it’s personal, but I will say that I’m extremely dissapointed in him and he’s really starting to let himself and his team down.  I hope this changes tomorrow.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 1 of Chapter 14 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 14 (Part 1):  Final Entry – The sky was so clear over the Lorshan Pass that Mace was able to look back and discern where they had been including the smog over Pelek Baw.  He also noted enough gunships flying over the canopy in patterns that he could discern up to ten flights.  Mace found this a little comforting because this meant they thought his party was still in the jungle.  He sat there cross legged staring out of the cave acrossed a meadow that is so flat, that it would be flat enough for a Seinar Systems “Jadtha” Class lander.  Mace tried not to stare at the sky as it would only be minutes now until their shuttle arrived.  Mace made a mental checklist of all the injuries he’s sustained on this planet.  Both physical and mental.  Nick paced the floor behind Mace down to the rock.  He asked Mace how much longer and the Master told him not much longer…..

Leave a Reply

