‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 13 (Part 6)

Okay, it’s Thursday and I was a little disspointed as I had to get up earlier today than I ever have to for school.  Sometimes I wish the summer workshops could start at normal school times, but this one started at eight when I’m used to my school day starting around eight-thirty.  I got up around six o’clock this morning and got a shower and got going, very slowly, for the day.  The neighbor girl came around seven o’clock this morning to watch the kids as Heather had already left for work.  I got on my way by about seven-fifteen.  I got to Columbus and we were doing an MYP conference today.  The intro is the typical intro that I’m used to out of an MYP conference and then we broke off into our groups.  That’s when some of the chaos started to ensue.  Our group was supposed to be Art based, but instead was technology based.  I didn’t have too much problem with it because I had training in level I before and in reality, this will give me dual certification to be able to claim both Arts and Technology out of my classroom.  Others, however, were having a hard time because they’ve never had MYP training before.  I was so glad when lunchtime came around.  Instead of going home for lunch, I instead stopped at “Taco Bell”, got some lunch to go and headed over to my school room.  Well, I’m happy to report that I have a Smart Board and a brand new computer in my room.  This put my mind at ease considerably considering they overlooked the other music teacher’s room.  I started to unpack my room and eat lunch and before I knew it, it was time to get back to the MYP conference at Columbus.  I was feeling sick to my stomach this afternoon and I think that some of that had to do with the conference dragging on because some people were not getting the MYP principles.  Other parts of it had to do with the “Taco Bell” food I ate.  I was sick all night long.  I had an upset stomach among other things.  I literally came home and camped out in the chair.  Heather helped the kids take down the tent which was on the front lawn, airing out from the camping trip and then she went to Wal Mart to get her nails done and offered to bring home some bland food, which she did.  I’ve never had a food irritation like this and I have to say that it gave me an odd sensation.  I felt like I had to pee all night long, yet when I went to the bathroom, I didn’t have to pee at all!  I know, more than you wanted to hear.  I went to bed early because I was actually feeling that bad.

Okay, let’s talk about Part 6 of Chapter 13 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 13 (Part 6):  From The Private Journals of Mace Windu – Depa and I talked most of the day about Vastor and she gave me more than enough details.  I have learned that Vastor and I are the last “ghosh” to be raised on Haruun Kal.  Over the past thrity years, the ghosh on Haruun Kal have been killed out by guerilla warfare.  But it did not bother me as I feel that I am more Jedi than Korun and Depa felt I would be bothered by the news.  I find the plight of any negative news as being stressful.  Depa told me about Kar’s past.  He grew up like any Korun, failry well in touch with pelekotan.  But it appears, like most, the Summertime War had a drastic effect on him.  Whn he was fourteen, he saw his family murdered by a jungle prospector.  Kar will not discuss how he escaped, however.  All we know is that he lived alone in the jungle with no weapons or help for an entire year.  this is what he means about surviving jungle justice himself.  Now I see why the Korun see jungle justice as a crime of mercy and not punishment, it was for Kar himself.  I am beginning to see why Kar saw this as justice.  He and the Balawai children suffered the same fate, they were born to the wrong family…..

Leave a Reply

