‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 13 (Part 5)

Wednesday and the first day I had to get up around school time.  Actually, I got up a little later than I normally do for school.  But, it was still early non the less.  I got up around seven o’clock and got ready for going to a workshop at school today.  I had a workshop on “Professional Learning Groups”.  I won’t lie, it was a LOT to take in, but the good news is that some of the talking points that need to be discussed on a school level came up and in particular the issue of communication, which I think is a main sticking point.  It’s possible that this strategy could help us take care of that situation.  It was what seemed like a long day.  What made it worse was the fact that I couldn’t get into my room today.  I was planning on getting in there a little bit today to unpack, but unfortunately, they had to wax the floors outside my doorway.  I got done and came home and took a little bit of a nap.  I had dinner with Heather and the kids and then we headed over to football practice to discover that we would not have practice tomorrow night, which was a nice change of pace.  We came home and the kids went to bed, while Heather and I watched some T.V.  I’ll admit, I went to bed early because I have workshops tomorrow and Friday and we plan on going to the New York State Fair on Saturday.  So the end of my week is going to require a lot of energy!

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 5 of Chapter 13 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 13 (Part 5):  Then she asked me if I felt it, and suddenly, through The Force, I could.  Fear and hatred that was amplified through the forest.  She then said that for the Korunnai the battle will continue on while one Balawai is still alive.  I asked her if she plans on continuing a war that is not hers.  She said she was their only hope and that she has seen and done some unimaginable things.  But that things could be worse, and I could not argue with this logic.  She pointed out that this war is nothing more than a bunch of little skirmishes.  She pointed at what it has done to these people and that the Clone Wars could get much more serious and I told her I was looking at her as being serious.  That’s when I began to compare the brave clones that I’ve worked with and the murdering Korunnai on this planet.  That’s wehn I realized taht the Clone Wars will not be fought by clones, because there’s not enough of them.  No, this war will be fought by the average person.  A person that will have to learn to murder.  After our talk, we had moments where we didn’t talk at all and Depa dozed off.  I was shocked to hear her screams and what she says in her sleep.  She appears to have a fever and I’ve tried to record her ramblings to no avail.  I remind myself that any lies she tells through The Force are more true than any truth…..

Leave a Reply

