‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 13 (Part 4)

Well, it’s Tuesday and the last day I can be completely lazy on vacation.  I got up late this morning and told the kids that they needed to clean their rooms and then the living room /kitchen and then could go outside and play.  Me?  I played my game today.  I went downstairs and took most of the morning and finally got to level 55 in “Call of Duty 4”, only to be faced with the decision to have to turn around and earn all the equipment all over again.  Well, I’ll do it eventually, but I just wasn’t in the mood today.  I no more than got done with that than it was time for lunch.  Since Heather was home, we had a nice family lunch today.  Heather has a night shift tonight.  It’s her last one of the summer.  But, that also means she has off tomorrow.  I went downstairs this afternoon and actually continued on with the game.  In reality, I did pretty good on the game.  I think a lot of that has to do with the fact that I have gotten used to the maps by playing mulitplayer online.  I took a nap this afternoon and when I woke up, we all got together and put dinner together.  We had a nice chicken barbecue and then headed off to football practice this evening.  We came back home and Heather and I headed downstairs to watch some T.V. while the kids went to bed.  We’re starting to get them on the school schedule starting tonight.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 4 of Chapter 13 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 13 (Part 4):  From The Private Journals of Mace Windu:  Kar stopped by to talk to Depa about tomorrow’s march, but I knew it was to check up on me.  This morning I asked Depa why she never stopped fighting once the Seperatists pulled away, but she asked me if a Jedi can just walk away.  She didn’t invite me into the howdah, but I think she was in a stat that neither of us wanted to see.  I reminded here that to continue fighting after a battle is won is dark.  She told me that a wars is about winning or dying.  I told her that here she has already won.  Depa pointed out that her victorious army is just a bunch of fugitives. I have sympathy for all of them and often remind myself that I could have grown to become Kar Vastor himself.  But I said none of this to Depa.  I told her I understood the war and why they fight, but I asked Depa why she still fights…..

Leave a Reply

