‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 11 (Part 5)

Monday.  I’m exhausted and full of energy all at once.  Only because I have to be.  I got up around nine o’clock this morning and watched “Dr. Phil” while the kids straightened up the house a bit and then I insisted that they go outside.  It’s actually a fairly nice day today and I was determined they were going to get out of the house and enjoy the day.  I then decided that now was a good time to finish a few touches ont he show notes and record the rest of the sessions I could without Ian.  Then it was time for lunch and the kids and I ate lunch together and then we took a quick one hour dip in the pool.  Heather got home and we came in and helped her get things unpacked from the day and then helped her get an early dinner put together since I had to be at work at four.  I ate dinner, got a shower, and was on my way.  Work was boring tonight, and it was quite slow.  I have to say that this still can’t be good for business.  I got done with work, after getting out late, and raced home!  I waited and waited for Ian, but he never showed.  This kind of sealed the deal.  I had a feeling Ian wouldn’t show.  The poor guy’s working two jobs, one a third shift and the other a first shift, he barely has time to sleep much less record with me.  So, I decided I was getting up early tomorrow morning and finishing recording.  I went to bed at ten o’clock tonight, which I haven’t done in a while, just so I could get up early.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 5 of Chapter 11 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 11 (Part 5):  Vastor was down with Nick while they were talking in the howdah.  Nick watched nervously while Vastor pace and occasionally looked up.  Mace asked if Vastor commands the ULF and Depa told him the entire Upland Liberation Front is a made-up group to blame all the Korun raids on.  In reality, the Korun are just a bunch of bandits and murderers.  She then explained that Mace only got to leave the planet because Depa promised to stay.  She told him that neither of them would be safe on the way to Pelek Baw.  Then Mace ralized that she did all this to try to save him.  A small victory for him.  Mace then explained that he had a batallion of troopers ready and waiging and that all they needed to do was get to the subspace comm at the Lorshan Pass caverns.  Dpea said they don’t have that long.  She told Mace that if he was here for even two more days, Vastor will kill him.  Windu then said to leave Vastor to him and that she is coming with him.  She told him he doesn’t understand.  Mace then told Depa that she is officially stripped of her command, is no longer a member of the Jedi Council, and is now hereby ordered to return to Coruscant to stand trial for her actions on Haruun Kal.  Depa said he can’t and Windu finished sayiing that she is under arrest.  She told him this was ridiculous, but Mace said it was serious and that he would die attempting to get her to Coruscant.  She then asked if he could accept her parole if she didn’t attempt to escape.  She smiles and asks how many times she needs to save his life.  She told him she missed him and then asked what he is going to do about Kar.  Mace then said he found her shatterpoint and he’ll find Kar’s.  She shrugged and said that only Mace Windu could garauntee that he’d be taken hostage, by himself.  Mace said I was the only one available…..

Leave a Reply

