‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 10 (Part 1)

Today was my last day to get things together for the Festival this weekend.  I ran around and made sure we had enough copies, and managed to get the idea of our Jedi Academy finalized.  Heather helped me out by going to Party City, finding some cheap stickers and we also managed to get some candy for this weekend as well.  I got all the copies done this morning and basically spent all of my day and night organizing everything for the festival that starts on Friday.  I also started to drag out my costumes and make the repairs that I needed to make in order to ensure that I will not run into problems during Spiedie Fest.  As I’ve said before, I’m excited and I’m scared all at once about this festival, let’s just hope it goes off as well as I see it in my head.

I had my last day of work before the end of the week and I have to say it was surprisingly busy tonight.  I got the impression that everyone decided to take tonight to go out and have dinner.  I got home and was totally beat, so I went to bed early and Heather joined me.

Okay, let’s talk about Part 1 of Chapter 10 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 10 (Part 1) – A Jedi’s Word:  The prisoners struggled on their way nervously eyeing the akk dogs as they moved.  Nick asked if he missed something considering these prisoners were ready to kill them last night.  Mace asked Nick if he agreed with the concept of this punishment and Nick said he did in principle.  Nick said that they used to just kill them because they couldn’t afford to fee them, but Depa urged them to use the jungle justice.  Then Nick said it also was to keep the cost of the war down, because now the Balawai won’t necesarily fight to the death anymore.  Mace asked how many survive jungle justice and Nick said they actually have no idea.  Nick then asked Mace if he’s gone insane, but Mace said quite opposite and then walked away.  As Mace approached the prisoners, one of them commented that the real Jedi was on his way over to them, which Mace found as an interesting reference.  The two Akk guards gave Mace a dirty look as he approached.  As he got closer, Urno and Nykl’s father dropped to Mace’s feet and begged him to spare his children.  Mace told him to stand up as Jed do not preside over any being, but to serve them.  The man stood up and as he did, Mace promised to spare his life and told them all to get closer.  As the chidren’s grasser got closer, Keela asked what is to become of them.  Mace said they would all make it back to the city and Nick said he shouldn’t make promises he can’t keep and Mace replied that he doesn’t.  Nick reminded him of the Akk guards but Mace said he has his own opinion.  Mace said he doesn’t care about jungle justice, only Jedi justice.  Nick pointed out that Jedi justice means nothing out here as there are no rules in the jungle!  Mace said of course there was and to watch and tell him what he thinks of Mace’s sense of humor, as he walked toward the Akk dogs…..

Leave a Reply

