‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel’ – Chapter 9 (Part 8)

Tuesday.  Well, things started to get back to normal a little bit.  As normal as we can expect around my house.  I woke up this morning around seven o’clock or so to my son and my youngest daughter fighting with each other over what they should be “playing” in the morning.  So, I punished both of them.  In great irony, I found out that Ruth had woken up, found them out in the living room fighting, and decided to head back to her room and to just read.  So, since Ruth was reading, I decided that they all needed to be reading.  I made them read for a good hour before I let them come out of their rooms.  Besides, it gave me some time to watch Dr. Phil this morning.  They came out of their rooms and I let them go into the pool since it was a hotter and more humid day.  I told them we would need to work on the pool water more to make it healthy for them.  So I only let them swin for about an hour and told them just to play outside.  I then started working feverishly toward things for the Spiedie Fest.  I made a new intro letter for our group so my wife could make copies for the festival and I also worked on trying to make some new business cards.  It wasn’t easy, but I now have some business cards to give out and some of them came out great and some of them came out looking like total crap.  Heather and I called “Avery” and complained and they agreed to send us some new business cards.  It took me all morning and all afternoon finishing getting all of that done and working on organizing everything I need for the fest.

Once Heather got home, I took a shower and ate some dinner and went to work.  Work was steady tonight, but not too bad.  I got done and came home and got to work on some more things for Spiedie Fest and worked on making phone calls and sending out emails.  I just realized tonight that there will NOT be a shuttle from our “off site” parking facility which is going to make the fest a little harder than we originally thought.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 8 of Chapter 9 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover…..

Chapter 9 (Part 8):  After the AKK guards started to depart, Nick asked what had happened.  Mace asked if he heard the conversation, but Nick pointed out that Vastor’s voice is only understood by the person he’s talking directly to.  To everyone else, it’s grunts.  Mace said that Vastor had a great sense of duty but that they wre going to take the prisoners to the steam crawler tracks so they can be picked up.  Nick asked why him, and Mace explained that it had nothing to do with him, but that he promised if they surrendered they would not be harmed.  Mace then pointed out all the ugly ways they can die in the jungle, but Nick was worried what Vastor and Depa would think of him.  Mace pointed ot that without NIck, he’ll just get lost.  Nick asked what if he doesn’t want to, Mace then said he’d just beat him silly.  Nick mounted up as Mace said Kar Vastor is not the only one to be feared.  He says that because none of them know Mace at all!

Leave a Reply

