‘Star Wars: Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel – Chapter 9 (Part 6)’

It’s Sunday and it was time to go to church, so we got up at our usual eight o’clock this morning and we all got ready for church including my mom and dad.  We wished my dad a happy birthday this morning and ate some donuts for breakfast and then got dressed and headed on our way.  I will say that I was a little dissapointed with the sermon this morning.  It just didn’t seem like it had any point to it other than to show me the “relationship” I’m supposed to have with God and quite honestly I know what relationship I’m supposed to have with God by now!  That’s kind of why I’m a Christian.  So, the sermon was unfulfilling and I felt bad because the pastor of our new church was on vacation and my parents didn’t get a chance to see what our church is really like with our new pastor.  All well, such is life and I guess I should expect that.

We no more than got home till my parents packed their car up and were on the road.  I felt bad because it was dad’s birthday and I really wanted to do something special, but my mom insisted they get on the road right away.  I’m sure she had plans at home for him, but it would have been nice to have a lunch and some cake, but all well, this is the life I live.  Once my parents left, we got to work on settling the kids in.  The house is surely no longer quiet.  In reality, I LOVE it that way.  I really don’t like my house being so quiet and I have to say it’s nice that the house is back to it’s old self.  I goofed around some with Austin and showed him some things that I did to his costume for next weekend which is our big event of the year, Spiedie Fest.

The girls and I got a chance to learn about their trip a little and had a chance to catch up on how things were going with them.  Ruth is excited about Girl Scout Horse Camp which starts for her next weekend as well.  Lot’s of excitement and lots of energy around the house, but it’s all for the better.  We helped the kids put their clothes, toys, etc. away and then got together the dirty laundry that we knew were inevitable.  We laid down some new ground rules, like no one is to run the dishwasher except mom and dad, but all in all, had a good day.  We got to night and the kids watched a movie upstairs while Heather and I watched our usual Sunday night T.V. shows downstairs.

Okay, so let’s talk about Part 6 of Chapter 9 of “Star Wars:  Shatterpoint, A Clone Wars Novel” by Matthew Woodring Stover……

Chapter 9 (Part 6):  From the Journals of Mace Windu:  I do not see Vastor as evil even though he is full of darkness.  He lives, stripped of civilized life.  Somehow the darkness flows through him, but not into him.  The darkness is a reflection of his world, and is only a reflection of what they have to do to win the war.  And that’s when I made the connection of references that have been made.  The war IS a jungle.  Later I rode next to Depa’s howda, and began to understand my own instincts.  There are times that our discussions can actually make terrifying sense.  She told him me I think like a peace officer and less like a general, my fatal flaw on Geonosis.   She told me that a general would’ve nuked the Geonosian arena from orbit.  She told me to win the war, no matter what the cost.   She reminded me that millions will die in the course of this war, which reminded me of what Yoda always said, “There are questions for which we can never have answers.  We can only be answers.”  I began to understand that beng a keeper of peace means nothing at all, because there will be no peace.  I sat staring at Kar Vastor now, with unsorted feelings and an instinct.  I began to question even my very own Jedi teachings……

Leave a Reply

